Eastwood, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Eastwood, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EASTWOOD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 9 miles (N. W. by W.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:


Eastwood St Mary is an Ancient Parish; the church of St Mary dates from 1858 and replaced an earlier church on the site which had been enlarged in 1826. In 1963 the main part of the church was destroyed by fire, leaving only the tower remaining. The tower is still standing, but has been joined by a modern structure dating from 1967.

Church history Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project

Eastwood Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Cemeteries

Eastwood - Council Cemetery, Church Street.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions of the Eastwood Council Cemetery, listed alphabetically, giving surname, given name, date of death and age at death, starting in 1879 onwards.including a list of folk born overseas, who mostly die  in the 1960's . Article to be found in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 93, pages 1-28,  Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Church records

Eastwood, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
EASTWOOD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Eastwood

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Eastwood in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Eastwood/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,413 times.