Eaton under Heywood, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Eaton under Heywood, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eaton under Heywood, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Munslow
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Church Stretton PLU
Registration District Church Stretton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wenlock
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EATON, a parish in Church-Stretton district, Shropshire; on Eaton Brook, under Wenlock Edge, 4½ miles SE by E of Church Stretton town and r. station. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eaton under Heywood parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
EATON UNDER HEYWOOD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1894


FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1593-1875 1500s-1620s, 1837-1875
JOIN
1835-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474585.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 22 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  8. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 991 times.