Ebberston with Allerston, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ebberston, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png

Ebberston with Allerston, Yorkshire
St Mary the Virgin Ebberston Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pickering-Lythe
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pickering PLU
Registration District Pickering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678; Separate registers exist for Allerston beginning 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Allerston beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EBBERSTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and lythe of Pickering, N. riding of York, 5¾ miles (E.) from Pickering; containing 579 inhabitants. [1]

Ebberston with Allerston is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Snainton, Yorkshire is a chapelry of Ebberston with Allerston.Other places in the parish include: Allerston.

Ebberston is within the civil parish of Ebberston and Yedingham in the Ryedale District of North Yorkshire. Ebberston St Mary the Virgin, Hagg Side Lane, which dates from the 12th century has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Ebberston Wikipedia

The registers previous to 1812 are as follows: (i) baptisms 1680 to 1759, burials 1678 to 1760, marriages 1680 to 1753; (ii) baptisms and burials 1761 to 1812; (iii) marriages 1754 to 1812.

From 'Parishes: Ebberston', A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 2 (1923), pp. 434-437.  available here

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Ebberston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
EBBERSTON PARISH (1680) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1680-1868

1680-1882

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ebberston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the EBBERSTON PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1678.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Poor Law Unions

Pickering Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-139. Adapted: Date accessed: 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,574 times.