Ebchester, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Ebchester, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ebchester, Durham
Ebchester St Ebba Co Durham.jpg
Ebchester St Ebba Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1619
Bishop's Transcripts: 1766
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EBCHESTER, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Lanchester, W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 12 miles (W. S. W.) from Gateshead; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information: Ebchester is a small village separated from Northumberland by the river Derwent and was a chapelry in Lanchester, Durham ancient parish. The Church of St. Ebba is thought to be Norman although some would argue it was earlier.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ebchester, Durham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
EBCHESTER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1619-1973 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Ebc).

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/90 1766-1871 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The transcripts are linked to the Medomsley Transcripts 1778-1779 and there are Medomsley transcripts at DDR/EA/PBT/2/176 which include Ebchester transcripts for 1776-1777, 1781-1782, 1783-1785, 1786-1788.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.

Poor Law Unions

Lanchester Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 May 2014, at 21:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,135 times.