Ebonyi State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Ebonyi State

Guide to Ebonyi State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Ebonyi State
Ebonyi State is a mainland south-eastern state of Nigeria, populated primarily by Igbos (95% of population). Its capital and largest city is Abakaliki. Afikpo is the second largest city. It is one of the six new states in Nigeria created in 1996; Ebonyi was created from the of old Abakaliki division of Enugu State and old Afikpo division of Abia State.

There are five first languages spoken in Ebonyi: Izi-Ezaa-Ikwo-Mgbo, Kukele, Legbo, Mbembe, and Oring.

Local Government Areas

Other main towns

Other major towns are Edda, Onueke, Nkalagu, Uburu, Onicha, Ishiagu, Amasiri and Okposi.

History

Ebonyi State is a state of Nigeria, in the south of the Eastern region. It is inhabited and populated primarily by Igbo. Its capital and largest city is Abakaliki. It is one of the six states created in 1996 by the Abacha government. Ebonyi was created from parts of both Enugu State and Abia State. It is the location of the Federal College of Agriculture, Ishiagu.

Genealogy

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 January 2015, at 16:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,462 times.