Eccles, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Eccles, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is A Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Eccles St Mary Parish

Eccles, Lancashire
St marys parish church eccles greater manchester.png
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Salford PLU
Registration District Barton upon Irwell; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ECCLES (St. Mary de Eccles), a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles (W.) from Manchester; containing,with the townships of Barton-upon-Irwell, Clifton, Pendlebury, and Worsley, and the chapelry of Pendleton. Other places in the parish include: Boothstown, Weaste, Cadishead, Charleston, Clifton, Croft, Dumplington, Ellenbrook, Foxhill, Higher Irlam, Hope, Irlam, Little Houghton, Lostock, Lower Irlam, Monton, Patricoft, Walkden, and Boysnope. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Swedenborgians, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

The parish of Eccles St. Mary (with parish registers commencing in the year 1563) has much online data which is now accessible to view and not only for its own parish registers but for many of its attached chapelries as well. These parish and chapel registers are now available for the following chapels and range of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MOCO Mocavo.com
ECCLES ST MARY PARISH (1563) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1564-1632 1564-1632 1564-1632
LOPC 1819-1848 1565-1873 1810-1842
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
FMP None 1565-1758 None
AC 1563-1666 1563-1666 1563-1663
FREG 1564-1632 1564-1632 1563-1632
ECCLES ST JAMES Chapelry (1878)'Indexes'

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None 1880-1948 None
AC None None None
ECCLES ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1879) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None 1880-1948 None
AC None None None
BARTON UPON IRWELL ST CATHERINE Chapelry (1843) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1844-1850 None 1844-1850
LBMD 1837-1897 1837-1940 None
ELLENBROOK ST MARY THE VIRGIN Chapelry (1768) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1851-1852
None None
LOPC 1768-1852 None None
AC None None None
FARNWORTH ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST (& KEARLSEY) Chapelry (1826) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1900 1830-1901 1826-1903
LBMD
1837-1992
PADDINGTON ST PAUL THE APOSTLE Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1846-1895 1885-1935 None
LOPC None 1933-1943 None
AC None None None
PATRICROFT CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1868) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1868-1903 1869-1872 None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
PENDLEBURY ST AUGUSTINE Chapelry (1874) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None 1874-1939 None
LBMD None 1874-1941 None
PENDLEBURY CHURST CHURCH Chapelry (1859) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1859-1911 1862-1926 None
LOPC 1859-1874 1862-1913 None
AC None None None
PENDELBURY ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1849) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1849-1910 1849-1894 1842-1991 - part.
LOPC 1837-1923 1849-1926 1842-1911
AC None None None
PENDLETON ST AMBROSE Chapelry (1880) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1880-1910 1910-1932 None
LOPC 1881-1902 1910-1922 None
LBMD 1837-1900 None None
PENDLETON ST ANNE Chapelry (1863) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1866-1928 1923-1935 None
AC None None None
PENDLETON ST BARNABAS Chapelry (1887) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None 1888-1923 None
AC None None None
PENDLETON ST GEORGE (CHARLESTOWN) Chapelry (1858) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1926 None None
PENDLETON ST JAMES Chapelry (1860) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LBMD 1837-1926 None None
PENDLETON ST LUKE Chapelry (1865) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LBMD 1837-1926 None None
PENDLETON ST PAUL see PADDINGTON ST PAUL Chapelry
Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC None 1933-1943 None
PENDLETON ST THOMAS Chapelry (1776) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1843-1864 None 1776-1812
LOPC 1813-1862 None 1776-1850
AC None None None
LBMD 1837-1900 None None
SWINTON HOLY ROOD St Chapelry (1865) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1865-1875 None None
AC None None None
SWINTON ST PETER Chapelry (1791) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1850-1897 1850-1897 1830-1838, 1847-1928
LOPC 1792-1894 1878-1937 1792-1928
AC None None None
WALKDEN MOOR ST PAUL Chapelry (1838) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1838-1908 1868-1933 1841-1927
AC None None None
WORSLEY ST MARK Chapelry (1843) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1849-1894 1849-1935 None
LOPC 1846-1922 1849-1918 None
AC None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306926.

Genealogy

Todd, A. A.  The Title Deeds of a Ramsbottom Terraced House.  Title Deeds, History, Maps, Photos and family tree of Richard Markland and Betty surname unknown, with the following surnames:  Wild, Warr, Heys, Collin, Parkinson, Ward, and hegen dating from 1862-1891, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 8, no.3, pages 32-41, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Salford, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-139. Date accessed: 06 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2014, at 20:14.
  • This page has been accessed 12,257 times.