Eccleston, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Eccleston, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a List of Chapelries in Eccleston Parish.

Eccleston, Lancashire
The Parish Church of St Mary, Eccleston Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley; Wigan
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ECCLESTON (St. Mary) a parish, in the union of Chorley, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the townships of Eccleston, Heskin, Parbold, and Wrightington. It is beside the River Yarrow and was formerly an agricultural and later a weaving settlement. Other places in the parish include: Heskin, Wrightington, and Parbold.[1]

Do not confuse (this) Eccleston St Mary's Parish with Eccleston Christ Church, a chapelry only--and a separate place, lying near to and within the parish of Prescot ancient parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the Crown, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD which is an index to those certificates sent in to the Public Records Office.  

Another index to those certificates held at each of the local superintendent registrar offices throughout the county is now online (no cost) at the Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths, or otherwise known as  Lancashire BMD. Note that the marriages index provides the names of the parish or chapelry in which a marriage took place.

Church records

Online Records

The parish of St Mary's Eccleston (with parish registers commencing in the year 1603) has much online data which is now accessible to view and not only for its own parish registers but for many of its attached chapelries as well. These parish and chapel registers are now available for the following range of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)(Lancashire par. records)
FS = FamilySearch
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
ECCLESTON ST MARY PARISH (1603) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials 
FS 1771-1847 1723-1847 None
LOPC 1603-1900 1701-1900 1603-1900
1772-1900 (Banns)
AC 1603-1694 1603-1694 1603-1694
JOIN 1813-1837
ECCLESTON DOUGLAS CHAPEL (1718) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1718-1857 1721-1753 None[1]
AC None None None
PARBOLD - see DOUGLAS CHAPEL
WRIGHTINGTON Chapelry (1842) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1849-1861 1849-1851 None
LOPC 1857-1921 1873-1921 1857-1925
AC None None None

The Family History Library has microfilmed by far the vast majority of Lancashire's original parish and chapelry registers, Bishop's transcripts, including Eccleston's above-mentioned registers. These are available for ordering to and personally searching at any of the over 4,600 FamilySearch Centers available worldwide.

Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306912.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 139-144. Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:08.
  • This page has been accessed 10,565 times.