Edenbridge, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Edenbridge, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Edenbridge, Kent
Edenbridge St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Edenbridge St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westerham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDENBRIDGE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Westerham, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 12 miles (S. W.) from Seven-Oaks. The Independents have a place of worship. [1] Edenbridge is a town and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent Edenbridge Kent Wikipedia

Edenbridge St Peter and St Paul is a 13th century church which originally was formed as a chapelry of Westerham, Kent Ancient Parish. It became an Ecclesiastical parish in 1814 and includes nearby Marsh Green within its boundary; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

Part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Lingfield, Surrey and Limpsfield, Surrey

The church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 179-188 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Edenbridge lies on the Eden Brook which is part of the Upper River Medway and was the town central to the mediaeval Wealden iron industry. There are many timber framed buildings in the town. It has two stations on separate railway lines which lead to growth of the town in the nineteenth century. There are four watermills in the parish, Haxted Mill (now a museum) and Honour's Mill on the River Eden itself and Christmas Mill on a tributary. There is also a windmill. The western parish boundary forms the Kent/Surrey county boundary with neighbouring parishes of Limpsfield, Surrey and Lingfield, Surrey See Edenbridge North west Kent Family History Society and Edenbridge St Peter and St Paul

Edenbridge also included
fckLRfckLREdenbridge Bethel Baptist Church Edenbridge Bethel Baptist Church High Street History of Baptist Church
; Edenbridge Independent church The Ebenezer Chapel High Street Edenbridge has been designated asa grade II listed building British listed Building
St Lawrence Roman Catholic Church High Street Edenbridge St Lawrence The Presbytery has been designated asa grade II listed building British listed building
Marsh Green Presbyterian St John's Greybury church, Marsh Green. Built 1882 Marsh Green Kent Wikipedia St John United Reformed Church

Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941
fckLRfckLRTonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
;(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells

Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Edenbridge, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Edenbridge, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1843, 1863
1716-1837

FREG
1825-1836

FS BTs 1716-1901 1716-1901 1716-1901
FS PRs 1547-1602, 1638-1891 1547-1602, 1638-1800, 1813-1899; 1754-1853 (banns) 1547-1602, 1638-1800, 1875-1900
IGI 1546-1602, 1813-1863 1552-1773, 1798-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

  • Edenbridge Independent Christenings 1800-1837 Batch (C068211)

Census records

  • Census returns for Edenbridge 1841-1891
  • FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
    *Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
  • Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
    Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
  • Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
  • The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns. fckLRfckLRAncestry UK Census Collection

http://www.findmypast.co.uk/content/search-menu/census-land-and-surveys+ Find my Past census search 1841-1901]

  • Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
  • The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
  • Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organization of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
    Find my Past 1911 census search

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

{expand section|any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above}}

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 139-144<. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,829 times.