Edgefield, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Edgefield, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Edgefield, Norfolk
Edgefield Old Church Tower.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holt
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holt
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDGEFIELD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of Holt, W. division of Norfolk, 2¾ miles (S.) from Holt. The Wesleyan Methodists have a place of worship.[1]


Edgefield St Peter and St Paul is the current church for the Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norfolk.

The ruined tower of the old church remain but in 1882 this old church was dismantled and moved to the current church site and built under the direction of the architect J D Sedding.

Edgefield Window.JPG

The long incumbency of Canon Walter Marcon form the 1870's to the 1930's had lead to this extraordinary removal to a new church site.

The new church was a reproduction of the old one, apart from the tower, using much of the masonry from the original which stood a mile west. Consecration took place in 1885 and the tower was built in 1907-09, with a clock added in 1921. The Canon is remembered in the new church where he is depicted riding his bike in a window, which also commemorates the building of the church. This window was installed in the church in the 1980’s. The 13th century tower from the old church still stands in a farmyard on the road to Hunworth. It is octagonal in shape and built from flint and carstone. The remnants and tower of the old church were renovated with grants from English Heritage in 1981. The Rector and P.C.C. still have the responsibility for the tower, and for the churchyard which has been passed to the civil authorities. Due to an administration error bear baiting is still legal within the village confines.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Edgefield, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[5]
Edgefield, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1815
1600-1815
1600-1815
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
NTA 1730-1767


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 275/1-7

This parish does not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Collection
Film
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1601-1607, 1623-1636, 1661?-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526777 Item 7


Bishop Transcripts

[1730-1732, 1735-1739, 1742-1746, 1748-1751, 1753, 1755-1767] Edgefield Baptisms (Bishop's Transcripts) Norfolk Transcription Archive.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.

Poor Law Unions

Erpingham http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/erpingham_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 144-147. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 22 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:23.
  • This page has been accessed 3,977 times.