Edgefield County, South CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png Edgefield County

Edgefield County, South Carolina genealogy and family history research guide. Introduces you to county topics such as vital record births, marriages, divorces, and deaths, census, court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records South Carolina
Online Records

Coordinates: 33.77°0′N 81.97°0′W / 33.77°N 81.97°W / 33.77; -81.97

Edgefield County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Edgefield County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1785
County Seat Edgefield
Courthouse

Contents

Quick Dates

Edgefield County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1915 1911 1915 1790 1787 1785

County Courthouse

EdgefieldSC.jpg

Clerk of Court
Court and Land records
on-line documents and index at landaccess.com

Probate Court
Probate and marriage records

Contact:
Edgefield County, South Carolina
124 Courthouse Square
Edgefield, SC 29824
Phone: 803-637-4000
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

Historical Facts

Edgefield County is said to have been given it's name because it lies on the edge of the Savannah River and also on the edge of Indian Lands (at the time) and South Carolina.[1] During the eighteenth century, a group of German Palatines settled what was then known as Londonborough Township, which is now a part of Edgefield County. Learn more about the history of Edgefield County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Parent County/Boundary Changes

  • 1785 - Thirty-three counties were created within existing South Carolina Districts. Edgefield County was created within Ninety-Six District.
  • 1800 - Edgefield re-christened a district and Ninety-Six District was abolished.
  • 1868 - Edgefield and all other districts became counties.
  • 10 March 1871: Aiken created from Barnwell, Edgefield, Lexington, and Orangeburg counties.
  • 1896 - Saluda was created from Edgefield County.
  • 1897 - Greenwood was created from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties.
  • 1898 - Greenwood gained from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties.
  • 1916 - McCormick was created from Abbeville, Greenwood, and Edgefield Counties.
  • 1921 - McCormick exchanged with Edgefield County.

For more information as well as maps of Edgefield County through time, see:

County Seat

The county seat of Edgefield County is Edgefield.

County Pronunciation

Hear it spoken.[2]

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in South Carolina counties see: South Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.


For further information (and links) on these populated places, please go to Populated Places, Edgefield County, South Carolina

Resources

Scedgefield.jpg

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png South Carolina African Americans

  • Burton, Vernon. "Race and Reconstruction: Edgefield County, South Carolina," Journal of Social History, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Autumn, 1978), pp. 31-56. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Edgefield County, S.C. African American Cemeteries: With Additional Church History Documentation; Contains Cemetery Surveys, with Historical Information on Each Church. Edgefield, S.C.: Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society, 2002. FHL Book 975.737 V3e v. 1
  • Heinegg, Paul. "'Other Free' Heads of Household in the 1790 South Carolina Census, by County," Free African Americans.com. [Includes free blacks in Edgefield County.]
  • Taylor, Tonya A. Browder. Free Persons of Color, Edgefield District, South Carolina, from the Federal Census Records, 1790-1860: With Additional Documentation from Various Georgia Counties, 1819-1820. Johnston, S.C.: Old Edgefield Pub. Co., 2003. FHL Book 975.737 X2t

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Cane Brake - Saluda
  • Cedar Grove - Edgefield
  • Cedarfield - Edgefield
  • Darby
  • Edgewood - Edgefield
  • Evergreen
  • Gomillion
  • Marshfield - Trenton
  • Marshland
  • Oakley
  • Oakley Park - Edgefield
  • Piney Woods
  • Roger's - Edgefield
  • Stately Oaks

Cemeteries

There are more than # burial grounds in the county.

To view a list, see Edgefield County, South Carolina Cemeteries.

Census

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 13,289
1800 18,130 36.4%
1810 23,160 27.7%
1820 25,119 8.5%
1830 30,509 21.5%
1840 32,852 7.7%
1850 39,262 19.5%
1860 39,887 1.6%
1870 42,486 6.5%
1880 45,844 7.9%
1890 49,269 7.5%
1900 24,478 −50.3%
1910 28,281 15.5%
1920 23,928 −15.4%
1930 19,326 −19.2%
1940 17,894 −7.4%
1950 16,591 −7.3%
1960 15,735 −5.2%
1970 15,692 −0.3%
1980 17,528 11.7%
1990 18,375 4.8%
2000 24,595 33.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Edgefield County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Edgefield County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1790
  • McClendon, Carlee T. The First Federal Census, 1790, the Second Federal Census, 1800, Edgefield County, South Carolina. 1959. FHL Book 975.737 X2p 1790-1800
1800
  • McClendon, Carlee T. The First Federal Census, 1790, the Second Federal Census, 1800, Edgefield County, South Carolina. 1959. FHL Book 975.737 X2p 1790-1800
1820
  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Edgefield District, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Book 975.737 X2j 1820
1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL films 1024517 - 1024518.

Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. [Includes this county.]
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See South Carolina, Edgefield District on page 142.]
1850
  • Buff, L.H. The Edgefield District (SC) 1850 Census. Lexington, S.C.: Lexington Genealogical Association, 2000. FHL Book 975.737 X2b 1850
1860
  • McKinney, Margaret Vaughan. Edgefield County, South Carolina 1860 Census. Augusta, Ga.: Augusta Genealogical Society, n.d. 975.737 X2m 1860
1890

For 1890, see: [United States Census 1890].

Church History and Records

Court Records

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Edgefield County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Samuel Glover b. ca. 1741- d. before 1802 m. Lydia Rountree- See http://www.worldfamilies.net/surnames/glover

Jessie J. Gloverb. ca. 1815- d. 1890 Aiken Co. m. Mary Mixon- See http://www.worldfamilies.net/surnames/glover

Genealogy

More than 100 genealogies have been published about Edgefield County families. To view a list, visit Edgefield County, South Carolina Genealogy.

History

Land and Property

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Edgefield County:


Tracing Land Currently in Edgefield County with Parent Counties and Districts [3]
Date Government Office  
1868-present Edgefield County
1800-1868 Edgefield District
1785-1800 Edgefield County (old) *
1769-1785 Ninety-Six District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
 

* First deed book is missing



Deeds

The original Edgefield County deed books are kept at the county courthouse. The years 1787 to 1866 have been microfilmed: microfilms. The first 41 books have been published:

  • [1786-1796] Hendrix, Ge Lee Corley. Edgefield County, South Carolina, Abstracts of Deed Books 1-12, 1786-1796. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1985. FHL 975.737 R2h v. 1
  • [1796-1826] Wells, Carol. Edgefield County, South Carolina Deed Books [Books 13-41, 1796-1826]. Multivolume. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1997-2007. FHL 975.737 R2w v. 1 to 11
  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories

  • Burton, Orville Vernon. In My Father's Are Many Mansions: Family and Community in Edgefield, South Carolina. Chapel Hill, N.C.: University of North Carolina Press, 1985. FHL 975.737/E1 H6b [Burton analyzes census data on every resident of Edgefield County between 1850 and 1880.] [4]
  • Chapman, John Abney. Chapman, John Abney. History of Edgefield County from the Earliest Settlement to 1897 (Newberry, S.C.: Elbert H. Aull, Publisher and Printer, 1897), 521 pages. Biographical and anecdotical, with sketches of the Seminole War, nullification, secession, reconstruction, churches and literature, withh rolls of all the companies from Edgefield in the war of secession, war with Mexico and with the Seminole Indians Digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archives.
  • Lucas, Gloria Ramsey. Slave records of Edgefield County, South Carolina. (Edgefield, South Carolina : Edgefield County Historical Society, c2010), 432 pages. Names are arranged by the name of the owner who sold the slave. Book found at FHL 975.737 H6Land Other Libraries.

Maps

 

Migration

  • Dumont, Louise M. "Migrants from Edgefield County, S.C. 1842-1852," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 57, No. 2 (June 1969):105-108. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 57

Early migration routes to and from Edgefield County for European settlers included:[5]

Military

Military History and Records
General
  • "Brigade orders, headquarters, 1834," Quill, July 2007, Volume 23, Issue 4. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Reorganization of the Upper Battalion of the 10th Regiment of SC Militia, 1834," Quill, May 2007, Volume 23, Issue 3. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Troops from district, 1836," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, July 1996, Volume 10, Issue 3. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
Revolutionary War
  • "Elizabeth Marshall Martin fam., Rev. War experiences, SC," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, February 2004, Volume 18, Issue 1. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
  • "Soldiers from 96 dist., Stono Ferry ba.," Quill, November 2002, Volume 18, Issue 6. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter : Edgefield, SC
  • "Sam. Walker bio., soldier," Quill, July 2002, Volume 18, Issue 5. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC
  • "Incidents in co., c. 1780," Quill November 2001, Volume 17, Issue 6. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Cloud's Creek massacre, 1781," Quill July 1999, Volume 15, Issue 4. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Pension applications, 1835," Roots and Branches, July 1999, Volume 20, Issue 2. Tusaloosa Genealogical Society c/o Mary Sinclair : Tuscaloosa, Alabama.
  • "Royalist regiment refugees," Quill, May 1997, Volume 13, Issue 3. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Ryan's co., SC militia payroll, 1779," Genealogical Roots and Branches, December 1995, Volume 16, Issues 3-4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter, SCGS : Greenwood, SC.
  • "Edgefield in the Rev. War," Quill, June 1995, June 1992, May 1992. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "James McDavid intent fraud," Quill February 1995. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Revolutionary pensioners, Edgefield," Quill, May 1992. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Butler co., SC volunteers, 1782 muster roll," Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin, Fall 1970, Volume 7, Issue 2. Carolinas Genealogical Society : Monroe, NC. FHL 975 B2c.
  • Sheahan, John J. Military markers and data: cemeteries located in Edgefield County, South Carolina. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1996. microfilm 1598370 item 6.
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Edgefield County, pp. 184-185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
  • "Pension list," Annals of Edgefield District, December 1986, Issue 4. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter, South Carolina: Edgefield, SC.
  • McClendon, Carlee T. Edgefield, South Carolina in the war of 1812 (Edgefield, South Carolina:  C. T. McClendon, copyright 1977) pages 55 FHL Book 975.7 A1
Civil War

Civil War service men from Edgefield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Edgefield County.

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company C
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters
- Company A - (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers)
- Company B - (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (6 months, 1861)
- Company C - (also known as the Edgefield Rifles or Riflemen)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars)
- Company A - (also called Company B and Beauregard Artillery)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army)
- Company G - (also known as Butler Sentinels)
- Company H - (also known as Haskell's Rifle Corps)
- Company C - (also known as Edgefield Rifles)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- Company C
- Company E
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company C - (also known as Edgefield Rangers)
- Company K - (had been Company D of 1st South Carolina Cavalry Battalion)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery
- Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery
- Company B
- Company E
- Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- Company B
- Company F
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64)
- Company B
- Company I
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry
- Company G (also known as Bonham's Light Dragoons)
- Company I (also known as Edgefield Hussars or formerly known as Company A, Cavalry Battalion, Hampton Legion)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company C
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves
- Company H
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63)
- Company C
- Company K
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's)
- Company C
- Company D
- Company E
- Captian L.S. Johnson Company
- Captain Tom Jones Company
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers)
- Company B
- Company G
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry,
- Company D
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's)
- Company C - Roster
- Company D - Roster
- Company E - Roster 
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry ,
- Company E
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles)
- Company E
- Company H
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry,
- Company A
- Company D
- Company E
- Company G
- Company H
- Company I
- Company K
- Company M
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry,
- Company H
- 11th Batatlion, South Carolina Infantry,
- Yeadon Light Infantry
- 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry,
- Company A
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company D
- 14th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry,
- Company B
- Company D
- Company G
- Company H
- Company K
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company K
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company B
- Company G
- 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company B
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry,
- Company A
- Company B
- Company C
- Company D
- Company F
- Company K
- 22nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company A
- 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company I
- Company K
- Aiken's Mounted Infantry, South Carolina
  • Chapman, John Abney. Chapman, John Abney. History of Edgefield County from the Earliest Settlement to 1897 (Newberry, S.C.: Elbert H. Aull, Publisher and Printer, 1897), 521 pages. Biographical and anecdotical, with sketches of the Seminole War, nullification, secession, reconstruction, churches and literature, withh rolls of all the companies from Edgefield in the war of secession, war with Mexico and with the Seminole Indians Digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archives.
  • South Carolina. Confederate Pension Board. Confederate Veterans and Their Widows Pension Records, 1919-1924. (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957). Microfilm copy at FHL 23987 Item 2
  • Edgefield County Soldiers Board of Relief Commissioners. Returns, 1862-1863. (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957). Microfilm copy at FHL 23987 Item 1

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Edgefield County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • Homeplace
  • Quill (Family History Library book 975.7 D25q .)
  • Annals of Edgefield District (Family History Library book 975.737H25a .)

Probate Records

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[6] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has  microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Edgefield County wills. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Miscellaneouw Probate Records, 1785-1868; indexes to records, 1785-1957. Edgefield County Probate Court. Microfilm of original at the Edgeffield Coutny courthouse in Edggefield, South Carolina. FHL Film 23870

Additional Edgefield County probate resources include:

  • Lesley Prey, comp. Edgefield County, South Carolina Wills, Books 1-2 [1836-1853] [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2000. Available at Ancestry ($).
    Original data: Edgefield County, South Carolina Wills, Book D, 1-2. For more information, see FHL 23869.

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Edgefield County.

To learn more about using Edgefield's tax records, see:

  • Genealogy 101, Guide to Researching Tax Records, Homeplace, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Spring 2008).
Original sources

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History microfilmed a set of Returns of Edgefield County Personal Property covering the years 1869 and 1870. Copies: FHL Film 1294267

Published abstracts
  • [1787] Holcomb, Brent H. Two 1787 Tax Lists from Ninety Six District, S.C. 1974. FHL Book 975.7 A1 no. 44
  • [1865] Glenn, Tricia Price. 1865 Edgefield County Tax Returns. n.p.: n.p., 200-?. FHL Book 975.737 R42g
  • [1865] Tax Returns, 1865, Homeplace, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Spring 2008).
  • [1865] County Tax Records, 1865, Quill, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 2 (Mar. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 3 (May 2002); Vol. 18, No. 4 (Jul. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 5 (Jul. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 6 (Nov. 2002); Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan. 2003); Vol. 19, No. 2 (Mar. 2003); Vol. 19, No. 3 (May 2003); Vol. 19, No. 5 (Sep. 2003); Vol. 19, No. 6 (Nov. 2003); Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan. 2004); Vol. 20, No. 2 (Mar. 2004); Vol. 20, No. 3 (May 2004).
  • [1891] Browder, Tonya A., Malissa N. Browder, and Glenn R. Zimmerman. Edgefield County, S.C.: Sifting through the Ashes of the 1890 Census. Edgefield, S.C.: Old Edgefield Pub. Co., 2008. FHL Book 975.737 R4b [Includes 1891 tax list and 1891 census of Edgefield village.]
  • [1892] Colored School Districts Taxable Poll List, 1892, Quill, Vol. 21, No. 4 (Jul. 2005).
  • [1919] Statistics on Wealth of People and Institutions, 1919, Quill, Vol. 25, No. 3 (May 2009).

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth

State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Edgefield County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Edgefield County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1769-1880 - Edgefield County Marriages, 1769-1880: Implied in Edgefield County, South Carolina Probate Records by Barbara R. Langdon [7] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1830 - "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1" by Elizabeth D. English  [8] Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1911-1947 - Proof of Marriages Prior to July 1, 1911; Marriage Registers, 1911-1947 [9] FHL Collection
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Edgefield County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1830 - "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1," by Elizabeth D. English [10] Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1843-1869 - Edgefield County Death Index 1843-1869. Batch B545971 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
  • 1844-1902 - Inquisition books, 1844-1902 [12]FamilySearch Catalog.
  • 1877-1901 - Edgefield County Death Index 1877-1901. Batch B545972 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
  • 1901-1902 - Edgefield County Death Index 1901-1902. Batch B545973 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
  • 1914-1960 - State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Archives, Libraries, Museums

Edgefield County Public Library

Address:
105 Court House Square
Edgefield, SC 29824
Telephone: (803) 637-4025
Hours of Operation: Monday to Wednesday 10:00 a.m to 6:00 p.m.,Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday 10:00 to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Sunday Closed
The Edgefield County Library is part of the ABBE Regional System listed below. The Edgefield Library Catalog is shared with the other three counties in the ABBE Regional Library System. To access the Catalog, Click Here.
You can subscribe to an email newsletter and select to receive information from the Edgefield branch among other places and subjects. To subscribe Click Here.

Other Edgefield County Libraries

The links below lead to the websites of the other libraries in Edgefield County. Each has its own hours and services, but all share the same cartalog. For more information the other Edgefield County libraries, select the links below

  • Johnston
    Address:
    407 Calhoun Street
    Johnston, SC 29832
    Phone: (803) 275-5157
    Hours of operation: Monday 12:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., Tuesday 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., Wednesday Closed, Thursday 12:00 to 6:00, Friday to Sunday Closed
  • Trenton
    Address:
    117 Watson Road
    Trenton, SC 29847
    Phone: (803) 275-2538
    Hours of Operation: Monday Closed, Tuesday to Wednesday 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., Thursday to Friday; Closed, Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Sunday Closed
  • Edgefield County Library is part of the ABBE Regional Library System (The Aiken-Bamberg-Barnwell-Edgefield Regional Library System) that is headquaterred in Aiken county. It serves the four western South Carolina counties of Aiken, Bamberg, Barnwell, and Edgefield. It has 14 branches and a bookmobile in its system. 
  • South Carolina Digital Library
    The South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) is a collaborative effort to encourage South Carolina schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Its mission is to encourage institutions to create, maintain, and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources. SCDL envisions a central web presence that will become a research tool for K-12 students, researchers in higher education, and other life-long learners of South Carolina’s history and culture. . The web site will give greater access to the rare and special South Carolina historical materials housed in the many museums, libraries, archives, and historical institutions in the state.[13]

SCDL's primary offerings for Edgefield County currently include various maps  - including topographical and Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, artifacts and letters.

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage

Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society SCGS Chapter
P.O. Box 546
Edgefield SC 29824-0546
803-637-4010
Contact: oedgs@spiritcom.net

Collection of newspapers, wills, deeds, censuses, and mortality schedules.

Old 96 Chapter SCGS
P.O. Box 3468
Greenwood SC 29648-3468

Old 96 Chapter covers Greenwood, Abbeville and part of Edgefield and McCormick Counties.

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Edgefield County, South Carolina

References

  1. Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 14.
  2. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  3. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  4. LeeAnn Whites. Book Review: In My Father's Are Many Mansions: Family and Community in Edgefield, South Carolina by Orville Vernon Burton Journal of Social History, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Autumn, 1987), pp. 133-135. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) ▲ WorldCat 50140092, and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.
  6. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  7. Langdon, Barbara R., Edgefield County Marriages, 1769-1880: Implied in Edgefield County, South Carolina Probate Records, [S.l.: s.n.], c1990.
  8. English, Elizabeth D. "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan., 1941), pp. 25-27.
  9. South Carolina, Probate Judge (Edgefield County), Proof of Marriages Prior to July 1, 1911; Marriage Registers, 1911-1947, Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1976.
  10. English, Elizabeth D. "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan., 1941), pp. 25-27.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/b2/Igisouthcarolina.pdf.
  12. Edgefield County (South Carolina), County Coroner, Inquisition books, 1844-1902, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957.
  13. South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) http://www.scmemory.org/index.php "About SCDL" [Internet site]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 35,550 times.