Edingale, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Edingale, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Edingale, Staffordshire
Edingale Holy Trinity Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Alrewas and Weeford
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDINGHALL, or Edengale (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Tamworth.[1]

Edingale is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1824 from chapelry in  Alrewas, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district may have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district or Cannock Registration Offices and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Parish formed 1824 partly from Croxall, Staffordshire former chapelry under Peculiar Court of Alrewas and Weeford

Edingale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
EDINGALE PARISH (1577) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1577-1876 1577-1876

FS 1669-1870
1669-1845

NBI

1577-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1575-2006 Mar 1575-2003 Bur 1575-2006 Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1669-1870 Mar 1669-1845 Bur 1669-1870 Missing 1861 Bap/Bur

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 144-147. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,077 times.