Edingthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Edingthorpe, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Edingthorpe, Norfolk
Edingthorpe All Saints.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tunstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDINGTHORPE (All Saints), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Tunstead, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (N. E. by E.) from North Walsham. [1]


Edingthorpe All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A Round tower church which is Saxon in origin with later medieval top to the tower and thatched roof.

The war poet Siegfried Sassoon visited the church when he was child on holiday in Norfolk. The location obviously made an impression on him for, later in life, when he came to write his autobiography The Old Century and Seven More Years (1938), he remembers the timelessness of the place:

'It had a very special dignity and simplicity, standing there on its low hill above the harvest fields, as though it were the faithful servant of the life around it.

All churches are alike in the eyes of our Maker, it now seemed to be saying; it evokes in me a sense of local England and the centuries behind it, - the harvests it has seen and the pathos of those humble folk who had toiled and died and had been "of this parish".

Sassoon used to stay at the Old Rectory each summer with his parents and his two bothers Michael and Hamo. On his return to Edingthorpe in 1937 he also remarked upon the village pond, but in less picturesque terms: 'There was the black stagnant pond with a few ducks on it - longer and narrower than it had been in my rememberings... It had always been an unprepossessing, unfishable pond.'

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1935
  • Bacton 1936-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Edingthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
Edingthorpe, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1570-1812
1561-1812
1561-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1727-1812

NTA 1725-1812
1727-1812
1727-1809

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 63/ 1-5, 25-27

This parish does not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1725-1812 Marriages 1726-1812 Burials 1726-1809
FHL BRITISH Film
1526819 Item 14

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Edingthorpe.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Tunstead and Happing Union became part of Smallburgh Union

http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 144-147. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 22 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,639 times.