Edmonton All Saints, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Edmonton All Saints, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Edmonton All Saints, Middlesex
Edmonton.jpg
Edmonton All Saints
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edmonton
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Edmonton PLU
Registration District Edmonton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDMONTON (All Saints), a parish, and thehead of a union, in the hundred of Edmonton, county of Middlesex, 7 miles (N.) from London.[1]

'Edmonton All Saints, was an ancient parish, also the head of its own union, in the hundred of Edmonton, and in the County of Middlesex. It lay seven miles north of the City of London. Southgate and Winchmore Hill within this parish, were two among numerous district chapels built (which also see) within the parish boundary.

'Also, there were chapels built for worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and Society of Friends.'[2]

'EDMONTON, All Saints, a parish, a sub-district, a district, and a hundred in Middlesex. The parish lies on the Enfield branch of the London and Hertford railway, and on the New River, 8 miles N by E of St. Paul's, London; contains Lower Edmonton, Upper Edmonton, Southgate, Winchmore-Hill, Palmers-Green, and the wards of Bury-street, Church-street, Fore-street, and South-street; includes part of Enfield chace; is a seat of petty sessions; and has a railway station at Lower Edmonton, and two post offices, of the names of Edmonton and Southgate, under London N. The central part of it figured at Domesday as Edelmeton; was anciently a town; is now a long broken street, has four churches, nine dissenting chapels, a coach factory, a court house, and a police station; and may be regarded as a suburb of London. The parish church consists of nave, chancel, and north aisle, with square embattled tower; was encased with bricks in 1772; had anciently a chantry; and contains monuments of the Huxleys and the Myddletons, and three old brasses. St. James' church...Upper Edmonton; St. Paul's,...Winchmore Hill; Christ-church,...Southgate; and the last of these is a large edifice in the pointed style. The remains of the poet Lamb, and those of his sisters, with a monumental stone, are in the churchyard. An Independent chapel, built in 1850, at a cost of £6,000, is a handsome structnre, in florid Gothic. The court-house is a modern edifice, on the site of an old seat of the Snells. Latymer's school, for educating and clothing boys, has £327 from endowment; Stanbridge's school, for educating and clothing girls, bears the inscription, -"A structnre of Hope, founded in Faith, on the basis of Charity, 1784;" Wild and Styles' alms-houses have £160; and all charities, inclusive of these, have £633. Edmonton figures in Cowper's poem of John Gilpin; and is known also for "a merry devil" and "a witch, " each of whom has been made the subject of a play. The merry devil was a Peter Fabell, who seems to have acquired notoriety by sleight-of-hand tricks; and the witch was an Elizabeth Sawyer, who was put to death for alleged sorcery in 1621. The parish comprises 7,480 acres. Real property, £53,447. Pop., 10,936. Houses, 2,079. The property is much subdivided. The manor belongs to Sir W. Curtis, Bart. Pymmes was the seat of Lord Burleigh; Bury Hall, of President Bradshaw; and Bush Hill, of the Myddletons. The parochial living is a vicarage, and the livings of Upper Edmonton, Southgate, - and Winchmore Hill, also are vicarages, in the dio. of London. Value of the first, £1,160;* of the second and the third, each £200; of the fourth, £100. Patrons of the first, the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's; of each of the others, the Vicar. Owen, the author of "Critica Sacra", was vicar; Tillotson, the archbishop, when dean, resided in the parsonage; and Dr. B. Taylor, the mathematician, was a native.

'The sub-district is conterminate with the parish. The district comprehends also the sub-districts of Hornsey, Tottenham, Enfield, Waltham - Abbey, and Cheshunt, each conterminate with the parish of its own name, and the last electorally in Herts. Acres, 46,607. Poor-rates in 1862, £27,029. Pop. in 1851, 45,298; in 1861, 59,312. Houses, 10, 861. Marriages in 1860, 267; births, 1, 884, -of which 67 were illegitimate; deaths, 1,015, -of which 360 were at ages under 5 years, and 35 at ages above 85. Marriages in the ten years 1851-60, 2, 360; births, 15, 336; deaths, 9,417. The places of worship in 1851 were 25 of the Church of England, with 11,589 sittings; 14 of Independents, with 4, 090 s.; 5 of Baptists, with 1,697 s.; 2 of Quakers, with 510 s.; 5 of Wesleyan Methodists, with 870 s.; 1 of the Wesleyan Association, with 90 s.; 1 of Wesleyan Reformers, with 80 s.; 2 of Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, with 275 s.; 2 of Brethren, with 187 s.; and 1 of Roman Catholics, with 162 s. The schools were 52 public day schools, with 4,597 scholars; 107 private day schools, with 2,405 s.; 37 Sunday schools, with 3,289 s.; and 5 evening schools for adults, with 81 s. There are two workhouses, the one in Edmonton, the other in Enfield. The hundred contains the parishes of Edmonton, Enfield, Hadley, South Mimms, and Tottenham. Acres, 32,026. Pop., 40,885. Houses, 7, 681.'[3]

Click the following to view a more complete "List of Churches and Chapels Lying Within the Parish of Edmonton All Saints."

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Edmonton All Saints, Middlesex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[4][5][6][7]
BO = BritishOrigins - (£)[8]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[9]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[10]
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[13]
Edmonton All Saints, Middlesex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1557-1812 1557-1812 1557-1753 1557-1753 1557-1812 1557-1812
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1754-1921 1754-1921 1813-1928 1813-1928
BO 1629-1630
FAMR 1557-1837
FMP 1629-1837
JOIN 1557-1837
PALL 1790-1837
TGEN 1557-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438772.

1666 Hearth Tax

Manor records

A variety of Edmonton Manor records survive dating from the 1300s to the 1900s. The Manorial Documents Register serves as a guide to these records and identifies where they are stored.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Edmonton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 147-150. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 November 2013.
  2. Samuel Lewis, ed. In A Topographical Dictionary of England 147-150. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 21 April 2010).
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).
  4. 'London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 29 April 2014. Described as All Saints, Edmonton in Enfield Borough.
  5. 'London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906,' Ancestry, accessed 29 April 2014. Described as Edmonton All Saints in Enfield Borough.
  6. 'London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921,' Ancestry, accessed 29 April 2014. Described as Edmonton All Saints in Enfield Borough.
  7. 'London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980,' Ancestry, accessed 29 April 2014. Described as Edmonton All Saints in Enfield Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  9. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  10. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  11. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  13. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:58.
  • This page has been accessed 9,883 times.