Edo State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Edo State

Guide to Edo State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Edo State
Edo State is an inland state in central southern Nigeria. Its capital is Benin City. It is bounded in the north and east by Kogi State, in the south by Delta State and in the west by Ondo State. Edo State was formed on August 27, 1991 when Bendel State was split into Edo and Delta States.

The major first languages spoken in the state are Edo, Etsako, Esan and Owan, Akoko Edo,Okpameri language and Ijaw. Edo State is home to several ethnicities, among them the Bini, Esan, Afemai, Emai, and Ijaw.

Local Government Areas

History

The land now known as Edo state with Benin City as it capital has a long history of civilization. Historians and researchers trace its excitant to as far back as prehistoric time. As a well organized unified-community. Under a very formidable monarchial authority called Ogiso. With a verbal government machinery .representing legislative, executive and judiciary, with some form of checks and balances more or democratic in form. With the people called Igodomigodo {Benins} {Edo} as it inhabitants.

As prince E.Eweka put it"No one is really certain about the origin of the Edo people whose origin appears to have been lost in myths and legends of the distant past" What is very certain is that Edo Civilization is well over 6000 years according to scientific evidence and before the first ancient inhabitant of Edo land was unified under a monarchial authority of ogiso. The Igodomigodos {Edos} {Binis} govern themselves through the ancient system of seIf governance called Owere {community elders}. The oldest male person in the community who is also the senior among Owere is automatically installed as Odionwere {senior among the community elders}. Odionwere and Owere manage the day-to-day affair of their various communities. This system is still practice in Edo-land to this day.

Genealogy

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 January 2015, at 16:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,745 times.