Edwalton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Edwalton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records
Edwalton Holy Rood Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1545|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
EDWALTON (Holy Rood), a parish, in the union of Bingham, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham.
Edwalton Holy Rood was formed as an Ecclesisatical Parish in 1739 from a chapelry in Ruddington, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|EDWALTON PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Edwalton
Edwalton Marriage Certificate 1742. A transcription of a marriage certificate of John Hutchinson and Sarah Blackshaw dated 9 March 1742. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 27,472 and transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, page 73, FHL Ref 942.72 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Bailey, Bryan. Edwalton Apprenticeship Indenture 1783.
Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 27,474.
Copy of the indenture dated 24 Jan. 1783, with names Ann Briggs, John Vincent, signatures of Thomas Flewit, Thomas Holmes and John Vinson, Sealed and delivered in the Presence of Thos Wright, Wm Vinson. Wm Coape Sherbrooke and Thos Charlton are listed as Justices of the Peace. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 119, page59. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Edwalton (Edwalston) in GENUKI: Edwalton
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 22:53.
- This page has been accessed 2,266 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News