Edwards County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties E
Edwards County
Guide to Edwards County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Edwards County Courthouse
PO Box 184
Rocksprings, TX 78880-0184
Phone: 830.683.2235
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1884[1]
The towns of Bullhead (now called Vance), 1883-1884, and Leakey, 1884-1891, both served as county seats for Edwards County. In 1891, Rock Springs (now Rocksprings) became the county seat. Bullhead and Leakey are both in the portion of Edwards County that became Real County in 1913. Leakey became the county seat of Real County.[2]
The current Edwards County courthouse was built in 1891. In 1898 it was destroyed by fire, with only the outer walls remaining. The building was rebuilt. In 1927, a tornado swept through Rocksprings killing 70 people and destroying much of the town.[3] The roof of the courthouse was damaged. The courthouse served as a refuge for the tornado victims.
Edward County Courthouse
County Clerk - Sandra Henry
P. O. Box 184
Rocksprings, Texas 78880
(830)683-2235
History
Edwards County was named for Hayden Edwards, one of the first American settlers of Nacogdoches.
Parent County
1858--Edwards County was created 1 February 1858 from Bexar Land District, but was not officially organized until 1883.
County seats: Bullhead (now called Vance), 1883-1884, Leakey, 1884-1891, Rocksprings (spelled Rock Springs), 1891-present [4] [5]
Boundary Changes
1913--Real County was carved out of the eastern section of Edwards County.
Record Loss
1888 -- Edwards County Courthouse at Leakey, built in 1883, burned on 10 July 1888.
1898 -- Edwards County Courthouse at Rocksprings, built in 1891, burned. Only the walls remained standing. The building was rebuilt.
1927 -- Edwards County Courthouse at Rocksprings roof damaged by tornado.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Barksdale | Carta Valley | Rocksprings
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Edwards County Cemeteries from the Edwards County TXGenWeb site.
- Barksdale Cemetery - TXGenWeb
- Cemeteries of Edwards County - USGenWeb Tombstone Project
- FindAGrave - transcriptions and photographs
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1880 | 266 | ||
| 1890 | 1,970 | 640.6% | |
| 1900 | 3,108 | 57.8% | |
| 1910 | 3,768 | 21.2% | |
| 1920 | 2,283 | −39.4% | |
| 1930 | 2,764 | 21.1% | |
| 1940 | 2,933 | 6.1% | |
| 1950 | 2,908 | −0.9% | |
| 1960 | 2,317 | −20.3% | |
| 1970 | 2,107 | −9.1% | |
| 1980 | 2,033 | −3.5% | |
| 1990 | 2,266 | 11.5% | |
| 2000 | 2,162 | −4.6% | |
| 2010 | 2,002 | −7.4% | |
- 1900 Federal Census - images - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Land Abstract- TXGenWeb
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Edwards County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Edwards County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
Confederate Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
1890 Mortality Schedule - TXGenWeb
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Edwards County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Edwards County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records) Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TEXAS GenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Edwards County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ HistoricTexas.net: Edwards County http://www3.historictexas.net/edwards-county-texas
- ↑ Rock Springs, Texas Tornado, Apr 1927 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/9040/rock-springs-tx-tornado-apr-1927
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ HistoricTexas.net: Edwards County http://www3.historictexas.net/edwards-county-texas
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2013, at 01:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,271 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More