Effingham County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Effingham County
Guide to Effingham County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Effingham County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 5, 1777 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Springfield |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Effingham County Courthouse 901 N Pine Street Springfield, GA 31329 Phone: 912.754.2101 Effingham County Website |
Effingham County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has birth and death recors from 1927,
marriage and probate records from 1790; Clerk
Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1777[1]
Effingham County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Effingham County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1777--Effingham County was created 5 February 1777 from St. Matthew and St. Philip Parishes.
County seat: Springfield [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Effingham County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Effingham County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
- Ebenezer Record Book: Containing Early Records of Jerusalem Evangelical Lutheran Church, Effingham, Ga., More Commonly Known as Ebenezer Church. Savannah, Ga.: C.A. Linn, 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Saltzburgher Births and Baptisms 1756-1787 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Constitution and By-Laws of the Georgia Saltburger Society, 1734-1925 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Ebenezer Record Book: Containing Early Records of Jerusalem Evangelical Lutheran Church, Effingham, Ga., More Commonly Known as Ebenezer Church. Savannah, Ga.: C.A. Linn, 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
.Effingham County - Probate Court - Land Warrants, 1783-1787 | Georgia Archives
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Effingham County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps
Marriages
- Saltzburgher Marriages 1754-1769; 1769-1778, New Jerusalem Church (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
Military
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Effingham County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Effingham County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Effingham County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- Wills 1826-1845 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Index to Wills, Vol. 3, 1829-1858 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Index to Wills, Vol. 4, 1866-1898 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Index to Inventories and Appraisements, Vol. 3, 1827-1865 Georgia Pioneers ($).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth
- 1756-1787 - Saltzburgher Births and Baptisms 1756-1787 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($).
Marriage
- 1750-1875 - Effingham County Marriage Index 1750-1875. Batch M002547 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1750-1875 - Marriage records, Effingham County, Georgia, 1750-1875 Lane, Jane Warren Hollingsworth, b. 1883.
- 1791-1834 - Effingham County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1791-1834. Batch M712711 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1832-1891 - Effingham County Marriage Books 3 and 4 Index 1832-1891. Batch M712712 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1890-1895 - Effingham County Marriage Books B and C Index 1890-1895. Batch M712713 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1879-80 - Effingham County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Effingham County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Effingham County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Effingham County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Effingham County Georgia (USGenNet)
- Effingham County, Georgia History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (My Georgia Genealogy)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
Effingham County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Effingham County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 May 2013, at 02:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,753 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

