Effingham County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Effingham County

Guide to Effingham County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.06°0′N 88.59°0′W / 39.06°N 88.59°W / 39.06; -88.59

Effingham County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Effingham County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 15, 1831
County Seat Effingham
Courthouse
Effingham County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Effingham County Courthouse
101 N. 4th Street
Effingham, Illinois 62401
Effingham County Website
 

Contents

County Organization

Effingham County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878* 1833 1878* 1840 1833 1838


*Incomplete birth and death before 1916

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Effingham County are kept, see the Effingham County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Lordeffingham.jpg

Effingham County is named for Lord Effingham who is noted for resigning his commission as general in the British army in 1775 and refusing to serve in the war against the colonies.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

  • 15 February 1831: Effingham County was created from Fayette and Crawford Counties. [1]; Effingham not fully organized, parts attached to Crawford and Fayette until "organized." (Ill. Laws 1830-1831, pp. 50-52)
  • 20 December 1832: Fully organized, detached from Crawford and Fayette. (Ill. Laws 1832-1833, pp. 22-23)
  • 26 February 1845: Legislature authorized Effingham to gain from Shelby the northern half of township 9 north, ranges 4 to 6 east, dependent on local referendum that failed [no change]. (Ill. Laws 1844-1845, p. 164) (source: Newberry Library)

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities


To see a list of places in Effingham County, click on [Show], above. Localities listed in red have no wiki page yet. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Gotoarrow.png Illinois Cemeteries for more information.

Gotoarrow.png Find A Grave, list of cemeteries. Additional information can be found at local level (city, township, etc.)

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see Illinois Census.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190020,465
191020,055−2.0%
192019,556−2.5%
193019,013−2.8%
194022,03415.9%
195021,675−1.6%
196023,1076.6%
197024,6086.5%
198030,94425.7%
199031,7042.5%
200034,2648.1%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840-1850
1840-1850 Effingham County census
FHL 977.3796 X2e 1840-1850

1840

1840 Pensioners
A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Effingham County on page 186.]; FHL Book973 X2pc 1840

1850
United States census 1850; pub. 1979 FHL Book 977.3796 X2p 1850

1860
1860 census of Effingham County, Illinois; pub. 1983 FHL 6103965 (3 fiche), Book 977.3796 X2c

1870
1870 Effingham County census; pub. 1984 FHL Book 977.3796 X2e 1870

1880
Effingham County, Illinois 1880; pub. 1990 FHL Book 977.3796 X2e 1880 (2 vols)
Vol. 1. Banner, Bishop, Douglas, Jackson, Liberty & Lucas townships
Vol. 2. Mason, Moccasin, Mound, St. Francis, Summit, Teutopolis, Union, Watson & West townships.

1900
1900 federal census; pub. 1999 FHL Film 1440430 Item 12, book 977.3796 X2o (2 vols)

State

Church Records

Correctional Institutions

Register of prisoners, 1898-1933; also known as Effingham County (Illinois) County Jail FHL film 1689434

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Effingham County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1833-1874 Circuit Court Record IRAD-EIU
  • 1833-1882 Circuit Court Execution Dockets IRAD-EIU
  • 1833-1925 Circuit Court Index IRAD-EIU
  • 1838-1880 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD-EIU
  • 1858-1870 County Court Execution Dockets IRAD-EIU
  • 1859-1870 County Court Fee Books IRAD-EIU
  • 1864-1910 Circuit Court Record, Chancery IRAD-EIU
  • 1868-1972 Circuit Court Record, Criminal IRAD-EIU
  • 1872-1964 Jail Registers IRAD-EIU
  • 1872-1917 County Court Record, Criminal IRAD-EIU
  • 1874-1973 Circuit Court Judgment and Execution Dockets IRAD-EIU
  • 1875-1919 Circuit Court Record, Common Law IRAD-EIU
  • 1893-1911 Insanity Record IRAD-EIU
  • 1897-1901 Circuit Court Dockets IRAD-EIU
  • 1958-1968 Circuit Court Case Files IRAD-EIU

Directories

Effingham County, Illinois city and county directories, 1924 & 1925: each directory in alphabetical order, surname index in back; pub. 1990 FHL Book 977.3796/E2 E4ec

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

Periodicals

  • Crossroad trails FHL films
  • Effingham County Genealogical and Historical Society newsletter FHL See note.

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Effingham County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Originals

Abstracts

  • 1836-1899 Effingham County Genealogical Society, Effingham County, Illinois public domain land sales, 1836-1899 (Effingham, Illinois:Effingham County Genealogical Society, 1990.) FHL Book 977.3796 R2e; WorldCat 173315434
  • 1845-1855 Osborne, Arnetia Bannick, Eleanor Poe Bounds, Effingham County Genealogical Society (Effingham, Illinois), Delinquent tax records, 1845 through 1855, Effingham County, Illinois: these records include owner's names, parts of section, section nos., range, acres, valuation, year tax due, state revenue, state special tax, county tax, poor tax, and total amount due (Effingham, Illinois:Effingham County Genealogical Society, 1995.) Other Libraries; FHL Film 1598433 item 19; Book 977.3796 R5o
  • Family Maps. Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Effingham County, Illinois (Norman, Oklahoma: Arphax Pub. Co., c2007.) Other LibrariesFHL book 977.3796 E7b
  • 1986 Rockford Map Publishers (Rockford, Illinois), Land Atlas and plat book, Effingham County, Illinois, 1986 (Rockford, Illinois:Rockford Map Publishers, c1986.) WorldCat 17213717; FHL Book 977.3796 E7e

Online Resources

Maps

Ileffingham.jpg


Military

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Effingham County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Effingham County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
  • Veteran burials, Effingham County, Illinois, 1862-1955 FHL Book 977.3796 M2v

Civil War

Civil War service men from Effingham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Effingham County.

- 5th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- 10th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- 11th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company G.
- 11th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E, F, and G.
- 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A
- 35th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 38th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 54th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and I.
- 62nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 71st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 98th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and K.
- 135th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies C and D.
- 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F.
- 154th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.

Organized in Effingham County, Illinois] Effingham Co ILGenWeb

Military Records

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Effingham County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

  • 1840-1905 Naturalization Papers IRAD-EIU
  • 1857-1906 Naturalization Record IRAD-EIU
  • 1859-1892 Naturalization records. FHL film 1010162
  • 1859-1892 Naturalization Declarations of Intent and final record IRAD-EIU
  • 1870-1888 Naturalization Record of Soldiers and Minors IRAD-EIU
  • Naturalization records: Files 166 through 182 (no years given) FHL 4 films

Abstracts

Newspapers and Obituaries

Newspaper clippings and obituaries from Clay and Effingham counties, Illinois and Yakima County, Washington FHL film 396345

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Effingham County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

  • 1834-1920 Probate Will Record
  • 1835-1893 Probate Record
  • 1838-1964 Probate Record Index
  • 1848-1926 Probate Claim Dockets
  • 1851-1932 Probate Accounts Current Record
  • 1853-1853 Probate Administrator's and Executor's Bonds and Letters
  • 1854-1939 Probate Administrator's Record
  • 1854-1935 Probate Sale Record, Personal Property
  • 1855-1939 Probate Appraisement Record
  • 1858-1896 Probate Settlements Due Dockets
  • 1862-1927 Probate Judgment Dockets
  • 1871-1894 Probate Guardian's Record
  • 1873-1914 Probate Inventory Record, Guardians
  • 1874-1895 Probate Sale Record, Real Estate, Guardians
  • 1889-1891 Probate Guardian's Report Record
  • 1890-1904 Probate Inventory Record
  • 1838-1920 Probate records FHL 12 films

Abstracts

Online Resources

  • 1849-1920 Probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Effingham County, and select the record type you are interested in. Includes, Guardianship records, probate records and wills.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives

Inventory of the county archives of Illinois, no. 25, Effingham County (Effingham), pub. 1940 FHL film 908556 Item 1, book 977.3796 A5h

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Effingham County are kept, see the Effingham County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

There are over 4500 Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors.  Microfilm and microfiche may be ordered from the FHL collection at a nominal cost.  Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website.  Call ahead to verify operating hours.  All are welcome.

The following centers are accessible to residents of Effingham County, Illinois:

Centralia Illinois Family History Center 
Leafland & 3rd Street
Centralia, Marion, Illinois
Phone: 618-532-3482
Hours: Wednesday 2-6pm
Attention: We have temporarily moved to this new location while our building is being remodeled.

Champaign Illinois Family History Center
604 W Windsor Rd
Champaign, Champaign, Illinois
Phone: 217-352-8063
Hours: Thur-Sat 9:30-12:30pm; Thur 7pm-9pm; or by appt

Terre Haute Indiana Family History Center 
1845 N 6 1/2 St
Terre Haute, Vigo, Indiana
Phone: 812-234-0269
Hours: Tue 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Closed: Mondays after 6:00 p.m., all major holidays, inclement weather, whenever Vigo schools are on delays or early dismissals.
Attention: The Center is also available by appointment.

Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments.  Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts.  The records of Edwards County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093

Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.

Libraries

Beecher City Branch Library
108 North James Street, Beecher City, IL 62414
(618) 487-9400

Altamont Public Library
121 West Washington
Altamont IL 62411
618-483-5457

Helen Matthes Library
100 E. Market Ave.
Effingham, IL 62401-3499
Phone: 217.342.2464
Fax: 217.342.2413
Email: hmlib@effinghamlibrary.org

Schools

Effingham County school history, centennial 1918 FHL Book 977.3796 J2e

Social Groups Online

Societies

Effingham County Genealogical & Historical Society
P.O. Box 1166
Effingham, Il 62401
facebook
Publication: Crossroad Trails

Pioneer certificates issued by Effingham County Genealogical Society FHL Book 977.3796 D2d (4 vols)

Taxation

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Effingham County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Clinton County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Effingham County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Copies of Original Records

  • 1877-1916 Birth Record IRAD-EIU
  • 1877-1915 Birth Record Index IRAD-EIU
  • 1877-1916 Birth records, 1877-1916, stillbirths are included. FHL films 1010043-1010045
    Index 1877-1915 - Film 1010043
    Vol. 1-2 1877-1901 - Film 1010043
    Vol. 3-4 1902-1914 - Film 1010044
    Vol. 5 1911-1916 - Film 1010045

Marriages

Copies of Original Records

  • 1839–1920 Marriage Record- IRAD-EIU
  • Marriage records, 1839-1920 FHL films 1010047-1010049
    Vol. A-B 1839-1877 - Film 1010047
    Vol.1-2 1878-1908 - Film 1010048
    Vol. 3 19908-19220 - Film 1010049
  • Effingham County, Illinois marriages FHL 6104306-6104310, 6110728, 6067339, Books 977.3796 V2e 9 vols
    Vol. 1-2 1833-1877 - 6104306
    Vol. 3 1878-1882 - 6104307
    Vol. 4 1889-1894 - 6104308
    Vol. 5 1895-1900 - 6104309
    Vol. 6 1901-1905 - 6104310
    Vol. 7 1906-1910 - 6110728
    Vol. 8 1911-1915 - 6067339
    Vol. 9 1916-1920 - not available on fiche

Online Resources

Deaths

Copies of Original Records

  • 1869-1934Coroner's Inquest Record IRAD-EIU
  1. 1878–1915 Death Record IRAD-EIU
  2. 1878–1915 Death Record IndexIRAD-EIU
  3. 1878-1901 Death Record, Stillbirths IRAD-EIU
  4. 1878-1915 Death records, 1878-1915 FHL film 1010046

Abstracts

Online Resources

Websites

Databases pertinent to Effingham County

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
  2. (Family History Archives FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Film 934983 Item 2 Note: Film 0825568 No circulation to family history centers.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 March 2014, at 12:49.
  • This page has been accessed 27,856 times.