Egerton, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Egerton, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Egerton, Kent
Egerton St James Kent.jpg
Egerton St James Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Calehill
County Kent
Poor Law Union West Ashford PLU
Registration District West Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EGERTON (St. James), a parish, in the union of West Ashford, hundred of Calehill, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 13 miles (S. E. by E.) from Maidstone. The Baptists have a place of worship.[1]


Egerton is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Egerton Kent Wikipedia

Egerton St James is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed in 1843 from Charing, Kent Ancient Parish. A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you The church was originally built as a chapel of ease and Edward Hasted (see below) lists clergy from 1642 and describes the history of the chapel of ease.

The church of St James, The Street, Egerton has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 449-455 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See West Ashford Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Egerton, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[3]
Egerton, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Egerton

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Land Tax

Images for Boughton Malherbe, Kent Charing, Kent Egerton, Kent and Lenham, Kent are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

The 1987 microfilming at Kent Archives reference: Q/RPL/71

Census records

Census returns for Egerton 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

West Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 150-154. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,086 times.