Egginton, Bedfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eggington, Bedfordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Egginton, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Egginton, Bedfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Leighton Buzzard
Registration District Leighton Buzzard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1807; For more records see Leighton Buzzard
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1846 - Lincoln; Post 1845 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Leighton Buzzard
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office


Parish History

EGGINGTON, is a chapelry, in the parish and union of Leighton-Buzzard, the hundred of Manshead, and county of Bedford. It is 2 miles E from Leighton-Buzzard. There are places of worship for Independents and Primitive Methodists. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Egginton, Bedfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Egginton, Bedfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1611-1613, 1700s, 1813-1875



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

  • Leighton Buzzard

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 150-154. Date accessed: 29 August 2013..
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 October 2015, at 16:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,437 times.