Eglingham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Eglingham, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eglingham, Northumberland
Eglingham Parish Church Northumberland.JPG
Eglingham Parish Church Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Alnwick PLU
Registration District Alnwick; Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EGLINGHAM (St. Maurice), a parish, in the unions of Alnwick and Wooler, chiefly in the N. division of Coquetdale ward, but partly in the S. division of Bambrough ward, N. division of Northumberland; consisting of the townships of Bassington, Beanley, New and Old Bewick, Brandon, Branton, Crawley, Ditchburn, Eglingham, Harehope, Hedgeley, East and West Lilburn, Shipley, Titlington, and Wooperton; There is a place of worship at Brandon for Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

Eglingham is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland and includes: Harehope, Hareup, Harup, Hedgeley, New Bewick, Old Bewick, Plea Piece, Shipley, Titlington, West Lilburn, Wooperton, Bassington, Beanley, Brandon, Branton, Crawley, Ditchburn, and East Lilburn.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Eglingham, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
EGLINGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records The images of Eglingham (Northumberland) Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/96 Date: 1762-1842 have not yet been loaded and await future engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Eglingham, St Maurice: Records of baptisms 1662-1913, marriages 1663-1951 and burials 1662-1904 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1662-1812 and marriages 1663-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1663-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1662-1812, marriages 1663-1812 and burials 1662-1812 for Eglingham are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438890.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,883 times.