Egmanton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Egmanton, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Egmanton St+Mary Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell PLU|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
EGMANTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Southwell, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1¼ mile (S.) from Tuxford. There is a meeting-house for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|EGMANTON PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Egmanton
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Egmanton in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Egmanton/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2015, at 00:06.
- This page has been accessed 966 times.