Egremont, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Egremont

Guide to Egremont, Cheshire family history and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

LISCARD, a township, in the parish of Wallasey, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 3 miles (N. by W.) from Birkenhead. The hamlet of Egremont is also in the township. A church, dedicated to St. John, and in the Grecian style of architecture, was erected at Egremont in 1833. There are places of worship for Independents and Primitive Methodists; and a Roman Catholic chapel (St. Alban's), built in 1842. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church Records

Egremont St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Egremont St John Parish (1884) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1881-1901
1834-1906


FS PR's 1865-1909  NONE 1907-1934  NONE  NONE  NONE
FS BT's  NONE  NONE  NONE  NONE  NONE  NONE

Egremont St John Otherwise Liscard, Church Street created a parish in 1884 from Wallasey and seacombe.

 Here is a list of Egremont parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. John's Church, Liscard, 1834-1952 Cheshire Record Office no.: P79/1-3, P79/4707/1-3, 6-7, 10-11; P79/2/3-4.

Parish Registers: Egremont, St John's
Film
Baptisms, 1881-1901. Marriages, 1895-1907. Banns, 1834-1883.
1655857 Items 4 - 6
Baptisms, 1900-1949.
2298980 Items 7 - 10
Marriages, 1907-Nov. 1940.
2299009
Marriages, Nov. 1940-1950. Banns of marriages, 1906-1913, 1933-1952.
2299010 Items 1 - 3

St. Columba's Church was a chapel of ease in Egremont, St. John's, Liscard. Liscard was a chapelry in Wallasey parish.

Parish registers of St. Columba, Egremont, 1904-1966 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P212/1, P212/2/1-4.

Parish Registers: Egremont, St Columba
Film
Baptisms, 1904-1948. Marriages, 1922-1966.
2262947 Items 2 - 6

Non-Conformist Churches

Not known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1912)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 150-154.Date accessed: 17 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 538 times.