Egton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Egton

Guide to Egton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Egton, Yorkshire
St Hilda Egton Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Whitby PLU
Registration District Whitby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1622
Bishop's Transcripts: 1617
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Egton St Hilda is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1807 from Lythe, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Egton Bridge, Newbegin, Lumberhill, and Limber Hill.

EGTON (St. Hilda), a parish, in the union of Whitby, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh,N. riding of York, 6¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Whitby; containing 1102 inhabitants. A second church, dedicated to St. Matthew, has been recently erected. There is a place of worship for Independents in the village; also a Roman Catholic chapel at Egton-Bridge. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Egton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
EGTON PARISH (1617) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1617-1869

1617-1880

None

JOIN None

1617-1836

None

NBI

1622-1655, 1677-1762, 1813-1936

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1622.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

St Hedda (Roman Catholic) known locally as the 'Cathedral of the Moors'. St Hedda's has strong links with priest and martyr Nicholas Postgate who was born in this area and ministered to the Catholic population of this part of the moors.

St Hedda Egton Bridge Yorkshire.jpg

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464233.

Poor Law Unions

Whitby Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 150-154. Adapted: Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,164 times.