Egton cum Newland, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Egton cum Newland, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Egton cum Newland, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1792
Bishop's Transcripts: 1792
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Egton cum Newland (St Mary) Penny Bridge was created a chapelry in 1792 from, and lying within Ulverston, Lancashire, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 20 miles (W.)from Milnthorpe. The village of Penny Bridge has since 1974 been in the county of Cumbria (historically Lancashire) and the modern parish is within the Diocese of Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Egton with Newland chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ulverston to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


EGTON WITH NEWLAND Chapelry  (1813) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1868 1856-1861 1813-1868
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
AC Various Years Various Years Various Years
ULVERSTON ST MARY PARISH (1545) Indexes (ancient parish including EGTON WITH NEWLAND Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1546-1910 1545-1914 1678-1903
LOPC 1771-1780, 1813-1841 1545-1617, 1771-1780, 1821-1841 1771-1780, 1814-1841
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1545-1837 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Egton with Newland and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ulverston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ULVERSTON PARISH page.


Parish registers of Egton-with-newland Lancashire

Microfilm of original manuscripts in the Cumbria Record Office, Kendal.The chapelry of Egton-with-Newland is in the parish of Ulverston.
Cumbria Record Office no.: BPR/26/I1/1, I2/1-2, I3/1, I4/1-2

Baptisms, burials, 1792-1812 Baptisms, 1813-1901 Marriages, 1856-1901 FHL BRITISH Film 1471923 Items 32-35
Burials, 1813-1917 FHL BRITISH Film 1472012 Items 1-2
Marriage banns, 1856-1912 FHL BRITISH Film 1472012 Item 13
Bishop's transcripts for Egton-with-Newland Microfilm of original records in the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Egton-with-Newland is a township-chapelry in Ulverston parish.

Baptisms, burials 1813-1820, 1831-1868; marriages 1856-1861. FHL BRITISH Film 1040312 Items 2 - 3


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 150-154. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,622 times.