Egypt GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Egypt)

Middle East Gotoarrow.png Egypt

Guide to Egypt ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

News and Events
Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Egypt Map.gif

Getting started with Egyptian research

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Egypt page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Egyptian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Egypt Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Jurisdictions: Administrative Divisions

There are 26 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah).

  • Ad Daqahliyah
  • Al Bahr al Ahmar
  • Al Buhayrah
  • Al Fayyum
  • Al Gharbiyah
  • Al Iskandariyah
  • Al Isma'iliyah*
  • Al Jizah
  • Al Minufiyah
  • Al Minya
  • Al Qahirah
  • Al Qalyubiyah
  • Al Wadi al Jadid
  • As Suways
  • Ash Sharqiyah
  • Aswan
  • Asyut
  • Bani Suwayf
  • Bur Sa'id
  • Dumyat
  • Janub Sina'
  • Kafr ash Shaykh
  • Matruh
  • Qina
  • Shamal
  • Sina'
  • Suhaj

Research Tools

Featured Content

Did you know?

Arabic is the official language. English and French are widely understood by educated classes

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2015, at 20:37.
  • This page has been accessed 16,236 times.