El Dorado County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from El Dorado County, California)

United States go toCaliforniago to El Dorado County

Guide to El Dorado County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records



El Dorado County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting El Dorado County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Placerville
Courthouse
Address El Dorado County Courthouse
; 360 Fair Ln;
Placerville, CA 95667;
Phone 530.621.5490
 
El Dorado County Website

Contents

County Information

El Dorado County, California Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1910 1910 1909 1850 1848 1849

County Courthouse

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death burial, land and military records Historical Facts[2]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: El Dorado County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: El Dorado County was created ;as an original county. County seat: Placerville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

PLACERVILLE, CAL., FIRE.

Placerville, Cal., May 16. -- Fire which broke out in a barn in the center of town last night, destroyed the courthouse, and several business houses, entailing a loss of about $100,000. For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

The Ogden Standard Utah 1910-05-16

source: gendisasters.com

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Alpine | Amador | Placer | Sacramento | Douglas County, Nevada

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing El Dorado County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.


Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for El Dorado County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Caeldorado.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from El Dorado County, California Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[4][5]

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in El Dorado County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in El Dorado County, California Genealogy:


- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 4th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company F
- 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company H
- 7th Regiment, California Infantry (Union) , Company G
- 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as El Dorado County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - El Dorado - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

For marriages from 1850-1875
Western States Marriage Index.

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

El Dorado County Historical Society
Fountain & Tallman Museum
524 Main Street
Placerville, California 95667
email:edchistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Phone: 530-626-0773
El Dorado County Historical Society

El Dorado County Historical Society
100 Placerville Drive
Placerville,CA 95667

El Dorado Research Society
PO Box 56
El Dorado,CA 95623

Heritage Association of El Dorado County
PO Box 62
Placerville, CA 95667

Lake Tahoe Historical Society
PO Box 404 South Lake Tahoe,CA 95705
Lake Tahoe Historical Society

Mother Lode Colony of the Society of Mayflower Descendants
3580 Four Springs Drive
Rescue, CA 95672-9530

Roots & Gold Dust Genealogical Society
PO Box 1354
Diamond Springs, CA 95619-1354

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), El Dorado County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2015, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 15,838 times.