El Paso County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png El Paso County

Guide to El Paso County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


El Paso County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting El Paso County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Colorado Springs
Courthouse
Address El Paso County Courthouse
]27 E. Vermijo Ave.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903-2208
Phone:719-520-6216
El Paso County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1861
and military discharge records from 1919; Clerk District
Court has divorce and probate records; County Court
has Court Records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1887 [2]*
 1861 [3]*
1890 [2]*

1861 [3]

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Colorado Springs [4]

Parent County

Coelpaso.jpg
1 November 1861: El Paso County was created as an original county. In 1859 it was formed from old Arapahoe County in the territory of Kansas. El Paso county was created by the Colorado legislature, and was one of Colorado's original 17 counties.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Evergreen Cemetery 1005 S. Hancock Avenue, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903
    Office Hours: 8 a.m-5 p.m. Monday through Friday, Saturday 8 a.m. - Noon | Phone: (719) 578-6646 | Fax: (719) 578-6077
  • Fairview Cemetery 1000 S. 26th Street, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80904
    Office Hours: 7 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, Saturday by appointment | Phone: (719) 578-6638
    Gate hours for visitation: Summer (Mid April through Mid October) 6 a.m. - 8 p.m. | Winter (Mid October through Mid April) 7 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Census

For tips on accessing El Paso County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Colorado Springs, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

El Paso County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the El Paso County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

  • Colorado Springs City Directories, 1879-1922, OCR'd copies made by members of the Pikes Peak Genealogical Society and hosted by the Pikes Peak Library District website; all extant editions included except 1913 and 1918, which are currently being corrected. Many directories include surrounding towns, including Manitou and Colorado City.
  • 1940 Telephone Directory, for Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs, Cripple Creek and Victor, Drennan, Fountain, Cascade, Chipita Park, Green Mountain Falls, Woodland Park, and Yoder. Residential listings only

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for El Paso County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Current El Paso County, Colorado, property owners may be searched by name or address at the El Paso County Assessor's website.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Pikes Peak NewsFinder, provided by Pikes Peak Library District's Special Collections, contains citations to local news articles and obituaries from the Colorado Springs Gazette and Gazette-Telegraph from January 1872 to the present and other local newspapers. Free copies of articles are available online from PPLD. Ongoing project with additional sources being indexed.

Obituaries

Pikes Peak NewsFinder contains citations to obituaries from the Colorado Springs Gazette and Gazette-Telegraph from January 1872 to the present and other local newspapers, including the Colorado Springs Sun and the Free Press. Free copies of articles are available online from PPLD.

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for El Paso County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968 El Paso County Civil District Court 1946 - 1961
El Paso County Divorce 1903 - 1941
El Paso County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
El Paso County Placer Mine Location Certificates 1892 - 1942
El Paso County Probates 1880 - 1969)
El Paso County School Census Dist. 3 1911
El Paso County School Census Dist.11 (Colo. Spgs.) 1910, 1920

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

 Libraries

Pikes Peak Regional Library. Special Collections contains extensive resources for research into the history of the Pikes Peak region, including books, maps, manuscripts and archives, photographs, oral histories, films, government documents, periodicals and much more.
http://ppld.org/regional-history-and-genealogy-home
Pikes Peak Library District
Penrose Library (main) & Special Collections (genealogy, local history)
20 North Cascade Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Telephone: (719) 531-6333

Tutt Library, Special Collections, Colorado College, Colorado Springs

Briargate Library
9475 Briar Village Pt, Ste 100
Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Telephone: (719) 260-6882

Cheyenne Mountain Library
1785 S 8th St, Ste 100
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Telephone: (719) 633-6278

East Library
5550 N Union Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
Telephone: (719) 531-6333

Fountain Library
230 S Main St
Fountain, CO 80817
Telephone: (719) 382-5347

High Prairie Library
7035 Old Meridian Rd
Peyton, CO 80831
Telephone: 260-3650

Library Express
3337 Cinema Pt
Colorado Springs, CO 80922
Unmanned location with a vending machine

Manitou Springs
701 Manitou Ave
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Telephone: (719) 685-5206




Monument Library
1706 Lake Woodmoor Dr
Monument, CO 80132
Telephone: (719) 488-2370

Old Colorado City Library
2418 W Pikes Peak Ave
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Telephone: (719) 634-1698

Palmer Lake Library
66 Lower Glenway
Palmer Lake, CO 80133
Telephone: (719) 481-2587

Rockrimmon Library
832 Village Center Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Telephone: (719) 593-8000

Ruth Holley Library
685 N Murray Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80915
Telephone: (719) 597-5377

Sand Creek Library
1821 S Academy Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Telephone: (719) 597-7070

Ute Pass Library
8010 Severy
Cascade, CO 80809
Telephone: (719) 684-9342

Security Public Library
715 Aspen Drive
Security, CO 80911
Telephone: (719) 391-3191

Museums

Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum – “the only institution researching, collecting and interpreting the robust history of Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak region.” http://www.cspm.org/

Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

See also Colorado Vital Records.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [5]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [5]

Divorce

The Colorado State Archives has put a name only Index to the El Paso County Divorce Records for the period 1903 to 1941 on-line.

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the El Paso County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 4. Please contact their office directly at 719 452-5000.

Places

Populated Places

Calhan | Colorado Springs | Fountain | Green Mountain Falls | Manitou Springs | Monument | Palmer Lake | Ramah

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), El Paso County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, pub. by Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, accessed on www.colorado.gov
  3. 3.0 3.1 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 16,886 times.