Elbert County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngElbert County

Guide to Elbert County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Elbert County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Elbert County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 2, 1874
County Seat Kiowa
Courthouse
Address Elbert County Courthouse
215 Comanche Street
Kiowa, CO 80117-0037
Phone 303.621.3129
Elbert County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1893
and land records from 1874 Clerk of Combined
Courts has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1880 [2]*
1874 [3]*
1900 [2]*
1874 [3]
1874 [3]
1874 [3]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

County seat: Kiowa [4]

Parent County

1874--Elbert County was created 2 February 1874 from Douglas and Greenwood Counties. Greenwood County was abolished in 1874.

Neighboring Counties

Coelbert.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Elbert County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Elbert County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Elbert County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Elbert County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

 

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elbert County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Colorado State Archives has put an Index to the Elbert County Will Record for the years 1887-1966 on-line

Public Records

School Records

Colorado State Archives has put an Index to the record of those students who achieved an eighth grade promotion for the years 1918 - 1930 on-line.  The Index shows the name, date, address, school name and district number.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Elbert County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
Elbert County Birth Index 1869 - 1906
Elbert County Divorce 1870 - 1910
Elbert County Inheritance Proceedings 1922 - 1941
Elbert County Judges Docket 1928 - 1938
Elbert County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
Elbert County 8th Grade Promotions 1918 - 1930
Elbert County Wills 1887 - 1966

Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries

Elbert County Library District
239 Main Street
Elizabeth, CO 80107
Telephone: 303- 646-3792
Website www2.youseemore.com/ecld/Default.asp

Museums
Societies

Elbert County Historical Society
515 Comanche Street (Highway 86)
PO Box 43
Kiowa, Colorado 80117
Website http://www.elbertcountymuseum.org/index.htm

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado. a

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [5]

Recent records are available only to close kindred. Identification is required for birth and death certificates. For Birth and Death Certificate information call the Elbert County Coroner at 303-646-5599 or 303-646-4127.

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [5]

Divorce

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Elbert County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 18. Please contact their office directly at 303 621-2131.

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elbert County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, pub. by Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, accessed on www.colorado.gov
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 6,952 times.