Elbert County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Elbert County

Guide to Elbert County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Elbert County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Elbert County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 10, 1790
County Seat Elberton
Courthouse
Elbert County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Address Elbert County Courthouse
10 W Church Sreet
Elberton, GA 30635-1498
Phone: 706.283.2005
Elbert County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Elbert County Courthouse
10 W Church Sreet
Elberton, GA 30635-1498
Phone: 706.283.2005

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court, land, and cemetery records from 1790 along with military from 1922. Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records[1]

Beginning Dates for Elbert County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1790

History

Parent County

1790--Elbert County was created 10 December 1790 from Wilkes County. County seat:  Elberton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Abbeville County  • Anderson County  • Hart County  • Lincoln County  • Madison County  • McCormick County  • Oglethorpe County  • Wilkes County

Elbert CountyHart CountyFranklin CountyStephens CountyWhite CountyHabersham CountyHall CountyMcCormick CountyBanks CountyMadison CountyJackson CountyBarrow CountyWalton CountyClarke CountyOconee CountyMorgan CountyGreene CountyTaliaferro CountyOglethorpe CountyWilkes CountyLincoln CountyColumbia CountyEdgefield CountyGreenwood CountyAbbeville CountyOconee CountyAnderson CountyLaurens CountyGreenville CountyGAElbert.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • In Those Days is an oral history from elderly African Americans in Elbert County, Georgia, and Abbeville County, South Carolina.

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Presbyterian
  • 1865-1885 - Elberton First Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1865-1885. Batch C712741 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Elbert County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • McIntosh, John H. The Official History of Elbert County, 1790-1935. Elberton, Ga.: The Chapter, c1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gaelbert.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to Elbert County for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Elbert County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Elbert County, Georgia:


- 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies C,F,and I
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies F and H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information is also giving)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elbert County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1875-1878 - Elbert County Birth Index 1875-1878. Batch C712721 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1791-1835 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1791-1835. Batch M712727 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1803-1808 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1803-1808. Batch M712722 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1804-1812 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1804-1812. Batch M712723 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1812-1824 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1812-1824. Batch M712724 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1822-1829 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1822-1829. Batch M712725 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1829-1831 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1829-1831. Batch M712726 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1836-1867 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1836-1867. Batch M712728 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1866-1887 - Elbert County Marriage Book D Index 1866-1887. Batch M712729 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875-1878 - Elbert County Marriage Index 1875-1878. Batch M712721 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1882-1895 - Elbert County Marriage Books E and F Index 1882-1895. Batch M712731 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1882-1899 - Elbert County Marriage Books A and B Index 1882-1899. Batch M712732 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1869-70 - Elbert County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
  • 1875-1878 - Elbert County Death Index 1875-1878. Batch B003498 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elbert County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 29-30. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 4.13 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 16,856 times.