Elham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Elham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elham, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loningborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELHAM (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Loningborough, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 11 miles (S.) from Canterbury. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Bryanites. [1]


Elham is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see Elham Wikipedia

Elham St Mary the Virgin is a parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is part of the group of churches in the Elham with Denton and Wooton benefice.

The Church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 95-110 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Elham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Elham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1566-1909 1566-1909 1566-1835; 1754-1928 (Banns) 1566-1835; 1754-1928 (Banns) 1566-1895 1566-1895

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

International Genealogical Index Elham Wesleyan Christenings 1816-1837 Batch (C068221)

Parish registers are deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives.

Land Tax

Images for Acrise, Elham, Stelling and Upper Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

These images are derived from 1987 microfilming at Kent Archives, Maidstone; the microfilm description includes:

"Elham is a sub-district and a parish. The sub-district includes the parishes of Stelling and Acrise. There is no information regarding Upper Hardres. Elham is included in items 5-7, while Stelling and Upper Hardes are in item 6, and Acrise is in item 7".

Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/120-122


 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306872.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. [1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK [2] to locate outside UK. Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 154-158. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:14.
  • This page has been accessed 4,495 times.