Eling, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Eling

Guide to Eling, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eling, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Redbridge; Thorngate
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union New Forest PLU
Registration District New Forest
Records begin
Parish registers: 1537
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELING (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of New Forest, hundred of Redbridge, Romsey and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (W. by N.) from Southampton with the tythings of Bartley-Regis, Bauldoxfee, Bistern with Bartley, Colebury, Durley, Langley, Lopperwood, Marchwood, Rumbridge, Tatchbury, Testwood, Wade with Over, and Wigley.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
ELING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1795-1799, 1831-1844
1539-1812
1796-1802
GENUKI
1539-1811

JOIN
1539-1811

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1707-1708, 1780-1814
1707-1708, 1780-1814
1707-1708, 1780-1814


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288801.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Genealogy

Abraham, A. G. The Abrahams of Totton and Eling. History and family tree of William Abraham 1784-1858, and (2nd) Mary Ratten of Totton and Eling. Also photo of the old house. Article covers years 1784-1918, Article in The Hampshire Family magazine fol. no. 4, Feb 1989, pages 251-253, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h Salt Lake City.

Prowting, June.  The Bulls of Longdown.  1861 Census with Picket, Bull, Akehurst, Smith, Prowting, and pedigree chart in article, which covers years 1755-1980 in the parish of Eling. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 17, no. 1, May, 1990, pages 44-45, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Wilcox, L. G. M. (nee Purkiss) King William and the Charcoal Burner.  Different spelling of the name Purkiss, Purkes, Purcas, Purkis also Lovell, Rossiter and Light.  Pedigree drawn up by Wills, Probates. Some early Mislead burial records, Purkes 1680-1689.  Article covers years 1661-1740, Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 17 no. 3, Nov. 1990, pages 163-166, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 154-158. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 7 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:33.
  • This page has been accessed 4,960 times.