Elkhart County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Elkhart County

Guide to Elkhart County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Elkhart County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1830
County Seat Goshen
Courthouse
Address Elkhart County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Goshen, IN 46526-3297
Phone: 219.535.6430
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1830*
1882*
1831
1830
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries



Neighboring Counties

St. Joseph  • Marshall  • Kosciusko  • Noble  • La Grange  • Cass  • St. Joseph

Elkhart CountySt. Joseph CountyStarke CountyLa Porte CountyMarshall CountyKosciusko CountyWhitley CountyAllen CountyDeKalb CountyNoble CountyLa Grange CountySteuben CountyBerrien CountyCass CountyBranch CountyVan Buren CountyKalamazoo CountyCalhoun CountySt.Joseph CountyINElkhart.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Saint Vincent De Paul Cemetery, Elkhart BillionGraves

Census Records

For tips on accessing Elkhart County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elkhart County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Dean K. Garber, Ivan Nunemaker, History of Elkhart County, Indiana : together with sketches of its cities, villages and townships, educational, religious, civil, military and political history; portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens.(Chicago : C. C. Chapman, 1881.) 977.281 H2b FHL Collection  INTERNET ARCHIVE  web site

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Elkhart County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.


  • O'Connor, Cathy L. Every Name Index to History of Elkhart County, Indiana, Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Townships, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens, (by Chas. C. Chapman & Co., 1881. Edwardsburg, Mich: Cathy L. O'Connor, 2007.) FHL Book 977.281 H2h other libraries   FamilySearch Books Online

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elkhart County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Elkhart County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Elkhart County



Civil War Book

  •  "Military History", Chaper 10, in Dean K. Garber, Ivan Nunemaker, History of Elkhart County, Indiana :(Chicago : C. C. Chapman, 1881.) page 537-575, 977.281 H2b FHL Collection  INTERNET ARCHIVE web site
  • "Military History" Chapter 11 in O'Connor, Cathy L. Every Name Index to History of Elkhart County, Indiana, Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Townships, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens, (by Chas. C. Chapman & Co., 1881. Edwardsburg, Mich: Cathy L. O'Connor, 2007.),(page 535-574, Regiment, Companies), 977.281 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries   FamilySearch Books Online
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elkhart County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Elkhart County Courthouse
Courthouse Squqre
Goshen, IN 46526-3297
Phone:. 219.535.6430

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and county Courtrecords from 1830.
County Recorder has land records. [1]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elkhart County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Elkhart County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elkhart County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:00.
  • This page has been accessed 16,875 times.