Elko County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Elko County
Guide to Elko County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Elko County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nevada | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 5, 1861 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Elko |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 571 Idaho Street #204 Elko, NV 89801-3787 Phone: 775.738.4600 Elko County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 5 March 1869 from St. Mary's
- County seat: Elko [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Box Elder | Cassia | Eureka | Humboldt | Lander | Owyhee County, Idaho | Tooele County, Utah | Twin Falls | White Pine
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Elko City Cemetery, Elko BillionGraves
- City of Wells Cemetery
original cemetery, 450 W. 6th St.
new cemetery, 451 W. 6th St.
Contact: City of Wells Office,
1279 Clover Avenue,
Wells, Nevada 89835
775-752-3355
The following web sites have entries for people buried in Elko County. None have complete lists:
In the Family History Library Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Elko, Nevada, look at the list of records for Cemeteries. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or can obtain them through Interlibrary Loan.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Carlin
- Elko
- Metropolis – There is no ward or branch in Metropolis. Contact the Wells ward.
- Montello – There is no Ward or Branch in Montello. Contact the Wells Ward.
- Ruby Valley
- Wells
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Wells Ward, is located at 951 Lake Ave, Wells Nevada 89835 (DO NOT MAIL TO THIS ADDRESS). Mail is sent to current Bishop's personal address. The phone number for the Wells Ward is 775-752-3763. The phone number for the Bishop's office is 775-752-3309. (Historical records are not kept at this location, nor does the Bishop have access to records of deceased individuals.)
Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level. Search the Family History Library Catalog - Place Search for the appropriate town in Elko County.
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Google Books has some books about the history and people in Elko County, Nevada. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.
In the Family History Library Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Elko County, Nevada, look at the list of records for History. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or can obtain them through Interlibrary Loan.
Wells, Elko, Nevada
http://www.seismo.unr.edu/feature/2008/wells.html
Land and Property
The Elko County on-line Public Record index starts in 1984. Filed maps, 1869 to present, can be searched by section, township and range or document number and can be viewed and printed.
Maps
The Elko County on-line Public Record index starts in 1984. Filed maps, 1869 to present, can be searched by section, township and range or document number and can be viewed and printed.
For historical maps,search the following free sites:
- Historical Maps of Nevada
- David Rumsey Collection for Nevada
- Perry-Castaneda Map Collection for Nevada
- Historic Map Works can view some images for free, though this is commercial site
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Elko County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[2]
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California[3]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Elko County Courthouse
571 Idaho Street #204
Elko, NV 89801-3787
775-738-4600
County Clerk has marriage applications, divorce, probate and court records from 1876.
County Recorder has birth, death, burial and land records. [4]
Courthouse History
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- Carlin Branch Library
811 Main ST
Carlin, NV 89822
Telephone 775 754-6766
- Elko County Library
720 Court St
Elko, NV 89801
Telephone 775-756-6587
- Tuscarora Library
Tuscarora, NV 89834
Museums
Societies
- Elko Genealogical Society
3001 North Fifth Street
Elko, NV 89801
Telephone 775-738-4565
- Northeastern Nevada Historical Society and Museum
Northeastern Nevada Genealogical Society
1515 Idaho St.
Elko, NV 89801
Telephone: 775-738-3418
- Western Shoshone Historical Society
1545 Silver Eagle
Elko, Nevada 89801-5021
775-738-7070
Taxation
Vital Records
Do a Place Search in the Family History Library Catalog for Elko, Nevada. Check the list of records for Vital records. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or order through Interlibrary Loan.
Birth
Marriage
Over 3,976 marriages from 3 Oct 1869 to 4 Jan 1935 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.
The Elko County on-line Marriage Record index begins with 1960. From 2000, the certificate can be viewed and/or printed.
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Alazon | Delaplain | Lamoille | Ola | Sage | Tuscarora |
| Arthur | Dinner Station | Lee | Osino | San Jacinto | Tyrol |
| Bullion | Dolly Varden | Loray | Owyhee | Scraper Springs | Ventosa |
| Carlin | Elburz | Melandco | Patsville | Shafter | Vivian |
| Charleston | Elko | Metropolis | Pequop | Shanty Town | Welcome |
| Clifside | Fenelon | Midas | Pilot | Shores | Wells |
| Cobre | Halleck | Mizpah | Point of Rocks | Silver Zone | Wendover |
| Coin | Henry | Moleen | Proctor | Spring Creek | West Wendover |
| Contact | Hogan | Montello | Rock House | Spruce | Wilkins |
| Currie | Holborn | Moor | Rowland | Sprucemont | Williams Cabin |
| Decoy | Jackpot | Mountain City | Ruby | Tecoma | |
| Deep Creek | Jarbidge | North Fork | Ruby Valley | Tonka | |
| Deeth | Jiggs | Oasis | Ryndon | Tulasco |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elko County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 18:18.
- This page has been accessed 2,073 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



