Ellastone, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Ellastone, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ellastone, Staffordshire
Ellastone St Peter Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne PLU
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Uttoxeter
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ellastone is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Calwich, Calwick;Prestwood, Wootton near Ashborne, Stanton, Wootton, and Ramshorn.

ELLASTONE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Ashbourn, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 5 mile (W. S. W.) from Ashbourn. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ellastone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
ELLASTONE ST PETER PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
FS 1538-1869
1538-1837


IARC 1538-1700
1538-1700
1538-1700
JOIN

1539-1700


NBI



1539-1837
PALL

1790-1812



St Mary's, Stanton was established as a chapel of ease to Ellastone St Peter in 1846 and parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]  (FREG -  Search under Ellastone)
STANTON ST MARY  (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1848-2007



1849-2007

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Ellastone/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 154-158. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. .
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 May 2014.
  9. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,778 times.