Ellel, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ellel, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ellel, Lancashire
St John's Church, Ellel Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1828
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

ELLEL, NORTH and SOUTH, (St John the Evangelist) a chapelry, in the parish of Cockerham, Lancashire, union of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 4 miles (S. by E.) from Lancaster, on the road to Garstang and Preston. The parish includes the villages of Bay Horse, Galgate and Hampson Green, and part of Dolphinholme, North and South Ellel.[1]

Ellel Grange had a private chapel St Mary's Chapel, built by Alderman Prestman and consecrated in 1873. It was not used a district chapel and closed.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Ellel chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Cockerham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ELLEL ST JOHN Chapelry (1726) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1726-1830 1724-1744 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 1858-1988 1837-1937
COCKERHAM ST MICHAEL PARISH (1595) Indexes (ancient parish containing ELLEL Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1595-1885 1595-1657; 1744-1874 None
LOPC 1595-1893  1595-1874  1595-1812
LBMD None 1837-1972 None
FMP None 1595-1837 None
AC 1595-1657 1595-1657 1595-1657


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ellel and comprising the whole ancient parish of Cockerham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the COCKERHAM PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 154-158. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,904 times.