Ellingham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Ellingham, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ellingham, Northumberland
St Maurices Church Ellingham Northumberland.JPG
St Maurices Church Ellingham Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Belford PLU
Registration District Alnwick; Belford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1764
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELLINGHAM (St. Maurice), a parish partly in the union of Alnwick, and partly in that of Belford, S. division of Bambrough ward, N. division of Northumberland; Attached to the mansion of Sir Edward, is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Additional information:

St Maurice Ellingham is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland and includes: Chathill, Doxford, North Charlton, Preston, Preston near Alnwick, and South Charlton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/97
Date: 1764-1842 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however the images for this parish have not yet been loaded at FamilySearch Historical records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Ellingham, St Maurice: Records of baptisms 1695-1996, marriages 1695-1977 and burials 1695-1997 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1764-1842 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1695-1818 and marriages 1695-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1695-1814 and banns 1751-1814. Transcripts of baptisms 1695-1819, marriages 1695-1804, burials 1659-1819 and baptisms of dissenters 1751-1806 for Ellingham are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.

Poor Law Unions

Belford Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,022 times.