Ellis County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Ellis County

Guide to Ellis County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Ellis County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Ellis County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Hays
Courthouse
Address Ellis County Courthouse
1204 Fort Street
Hays, Kansas 67601-3899
Phone: 785.628.9410

Contents

County Courthouse


1204 Fort St;
Hays, KS 67601
Phone: 785.628.8410

County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records 1886-1911.
Clerk District court has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land, military discharge & school records. [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Ellis County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Hays [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

  • Ellis
  • Hays

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksellis.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ellis County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

  • Ellis County was not organized until after the Civil War so no Civil War enlistment records exist.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ellis County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Ellis and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Ellis Public Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central. The library may have cataloged unique items related to genealogy and local history, in addition to published works for this area.

Family History Centers