Elloughton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png East Riding Of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Elloughton

Guide to Elloughton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elloughton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Beverly PLU
Registration District Beverley; Sculcoates
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Wetwang
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELLOUGHTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Beverley, Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 2½ miles (S. E. by S.) from South Cave containing the hamlet of Brough and township of Wauldby. Church of England records began in 1600. There are places of worship for congregations of Calvinists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Elloughton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
ELLOUGHTON PARISH (1601) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1715-1865

1601-1844

1666-1765

JOIN None

1601-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Elloughton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ELLOUGHTON PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 161-164. Adapted; Date accessed: 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,352 times.