Elma, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngTown of Elma

Contents

Resources

Church Records

History

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Elma, NY

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Elma Public Library
1860 Bowen Road
Elma, NY 14059
Phone: 716-652-2719

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Elma Town Museum
Elma Historical Society

Elma Town Hall
1910 Bowen Road
Mailing address: P.O. Box 84
Elma, NY 14059-0084
Phone: 716-652-6310[1]

Societies

Elma Historical Society
1910 Bowen Road
P.O. Box 84
Elma, NY 14059-0084
Phone: 716-652-6310
E-mail: elmahistory@aol.com

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk

Town of Elma, Clerk
Town Hall, 1600 Bowen Road
Elman, NY 14059
Phone: 716-652-3260
Email: townclerk@elmanewyork.com

Town Historian

Robert C. Newton, Historian
251 Creek Road
East Aurora, NY 14052
Phone: 716-652-9274

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Elma, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

  1. Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2012, at 16:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,274 times.