Elmley, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Elmley, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elmley, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Sheppey Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1827
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELMLEY, ISLE of (St. James), a parish, in the union of Sheppy, liberty of the Isle of Sheppy, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Sittingbourne.[1]


Elmley St James was an Ancient Parish in Elmley Marsh on the Isle of Sheppey.

The church was enlarged and rebuilt in 1853; registers began in 1828. The parish was sparsely populated and remote with no roads only dirt tracks and the closure of the Victorian cement works 

The church was demolished and only some stones and fragments of gravestones remain.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306867.

See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 161-164. Date Accessed: 25 July 2013.

Kent


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,209 times.