Elmore County, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Idaho Gotoarrow.png Elmore County

Guide to Elmore County Idaho genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
City of Rocks, Elmore County, Idaho by Peg Owens

Idaho Wildlife Management Units.png Idaho
Online Records





Quick start:


Idaho County, Idaho
Map
Map of Idaho highlighting Idaho County
Location in the state of Idaho
Map of the U.S. highlighting Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1889
County Seat Mountain Home
Courthouse
Elmore County CH.jpg
Address Elmore County Courthouse<br>602 Elmore<br>150 South 4th East Suite 5<br>Mountain Home, Idaho 83647<br>Phone: 208.587.2130 <br>Phone: 208.287.2133

Contents

County Courthouse

Elmore County Courthouse
150 South 4th East Suite 5
Mountain Home Idaho 83647
Phone: 208.587.2130
Phone: 208.287.2133

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907-1911 marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1889. [1]

Quick Facts

  • Named for Ida Elmore mines, the area's greatest silver and gold producer in 1860s.
  • The Oregon Trail crossed the Snake River near Glenns Ferry.

Parent County

7 February 1889: Elmore County, Idaho was created from Ada and Alturas Counties. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

This list of places in Elmore County, Idaho was compiled from the Lists of Places in Idaho in Wikipedia and from the map of Elmore County in Virtual Earth.

Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Elmore County, Idaho entries with names, images, or information.


Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Elmore County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Mountain Home[2].

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Elmore County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Elmore County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19002,286
19104,785109.3%
19205,0876.3%
19304,491−11.7%
19405,51822.9%
19506,68721.2%
196016,719150.0%
197017,4794.5%
198021,56523.4%
199021,205−1.7%
200029,13037.4%
sources:[3][4]


For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Archives is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census. Elmore County is included in this reconstructed census.

Church

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
  • The following are local congregations (wards) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints which existed in Elmore County, Idaho prior to 1950. Many of the original records of these church units are in theHistorical Library in Salt Lake City. Many of the membership records covering these units from the date of their creation to about 1948 have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
  • Glenn's Ferry
  • Mountain Home

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court Records

Some of the early court records of Elmore County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Elmore County courthouse in Mountain Home, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.

Some of the records of the courts of Elmore County that have been microfilmed include:

  • Patents, 1889-1911; general index, 1891-1965 Idaho.
  • Power of attorney, 1898-1930; general index, 1898-1985
  • Idaho genealogical records (contains Elmore County court records 1874-1899 taken from a Boise Idaho newspaper.)

See also the Elmore County Miscellaneous Series.

History

Published historical works include: (See WorldCat.org for library holdings.)

  • Crossroads: a History of the Elmore County Area, by Sandra Ransel and Charles Durand
  • A Glimpse at Early Elmore County, by Olive De Ette Jensen Groefsema
  • Elmore County, its Historical Gleanings, a Collection of Pioneer Narratives, Treasured Family Pictures, and Early Clippings about the Settling of Elmore County, Idaho, by Olive de Ette Jenson Groefsema

A history and current facts of Elmore County are available at the county website.

Land

Elmore CO. Three Island Crossing, Image 863, (ThreeIslands1).jpg
Land and Property records are generally held in the county in which the transaction took place. For Elmore County this would be at the courthouse in Mountain Home and would require a visit to access the records.

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many of the county records of Elmore County, among them the land and property records, which can be viewed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has also microfilmed some deeds and homestead records of Elmore County. These films are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of itsFamily History Centers.

Maps

Idelmore.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Elmore County, Idaho for European and African American settlers included:

Military

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Elmore County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452214) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Another resource is the book In Camp and Trench, a History of Elmore County's Part in the World War [I] by American War Mothers. See WorldCat.org for library holdings.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Elmore County. The originals are held in the Elmore County courthouse in Mountain Home, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.

Naturalization

The original naturalization records of Elmore County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise have been indexed in their Index to Naturalizations.

Newspapers

Current
Historical

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed the following issues of Elmore County newspapers which are available at their facility in Boise, Idaho:

Atlanta News:1885: 5:16-1886: 5: 8
Elmore Bulletin: 1889:6:1-1905:6:1
Elmore County Republican: 1894:8:23, 1900:4:17-5:29
Elmore County Republican: 1910:5:17-1917:12:29
Elmore Times: 1914:4:3-1915:12:31
Gazette, Elmore: 1908:9:30-1971:4:16
Glenns Ferry Gazette: 1996:1:9-9999
Glenns Ferry Pilot: 1974:7:25-1995:6:6
Glenns Ferry Signal: 1905:9:1
Mountain Home Bulletin: 1888:6:2-1889:5:25
Mountain Home Maverick: 1906:5:10-1911:8:3
Mountain Home News: 1946:8:8-9999
Mountain Home Republican: 1918:1:5-1946:8:1
Mountain Home Republican: 1908:4:22
New Time: 1910:6:17-1914:3:17
New Time: 1913:2:28
Phantom Photogram: 1970:4:24
Pipeline: 1992:2:6-1997:1:2
Range and Valley, Elmore: 1891:6:1
Republican: 1905:1:3-1910
South Idaho Herald: 1906:12:1-1907:4:27
South Idaho Herald: 1905:12:23, 1906:1:13, 3:13

Probate

Probate records are generally housed in the county in which the transaction took place, and can be accessed by contacting the Elmore county courthouse which is located in Mountain Home.

The Family History Library has microfilmed some probate records from Elmore County (Wills 1892-1936) and the films are available in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of itsFamily History Centers.

The Idaho State Archives has these same films for Elmore County Wills (1892-1936) which can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

Taxation

Any existing tax assessment rolls for Elmore County should be in the courthouse in Mountain Home and would need to be accessed by visiting there.

Vital Records

Birth

The Birth Registers for Elmore County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in the Elmore County area are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.

Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

  • Glenns Ferry Public Library
    298 S Lincoln
    Glenns Ferry, ID 83623
    Phone: (208) 366-2045
  • Mountain Home Public Library
    790 N 10th E
    Mountain Home, ID 83647
    Phone: (208) 587-4716
    Website
  • Prairie District Library
    71 Smith Creek Rd
    Prairie, ID 83647
    Phone: (208) 868-3246
  • Mountain Home Historical Museum‎
    180 South 3rd East, Mountain Home, ID 83647-3019
    (208) 587-6847‎

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elmore, Idaho page 178, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  3. census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
  4. quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
  5. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap5.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:21.
  • This page has been accessed 19,183 times.