Elsdon, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Elsdon, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elsdon, Northumberland
St Cuthbert Elsdon Northumberland.jpg
St Cuthbert Elsdon Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Rothbury PLU
Registration District Bellingham; Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672; Separate registers exist for Horsley beginning 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothbury
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELSDON (St. Cuthbert), a parish, partly in the union of Bellingham, and partly in that of Rothbury, S. division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships or wards of Elsdon, Monkridge, Otterburn, Rochester, Troughend, and Woodside; . The church is a large cruciform structure, supposed to have been built soon after the time of Richard II.[1]

Elsdon St Cuthbert is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland and includes: Elsdon Ward, Horsley, Horsley near Otterburn, Monkridge, Monkridge-ward, Otterburn, Otterburn-ward, Rochester, Rochester-ward, Troughend, Troughend-ward, Woodside, and Woodside-ward.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/98 Date: 1762-1830 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical records The images for Elsdon have not yet been loaded at FamilySearch Historical Records and await the future reloading by our engineers This is a known issue and part of a large re-engineering to for this collection.

Related materials (elsewhere):
Transcripts for 1720 are among the Howe manuscriptsDurham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection at Durham Cathedral Library.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Elsdon, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1672-1980, marriages 1672-1976 and burials 1672-1926 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1672-1812 and marriages 1672-1780 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1672-1780. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1672-1812 for Elsdon are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438890.

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,663 times.