Elson, HampshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Elson, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Alverstoke and Gosport Liberty|
|Poor Law Union||Alverstoke PLU|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1845|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
ELSON, a chapelry in Alverstoke parish, Hants; on the Gosport Junction railway, near Portsmouth harbour, 1 mile NNW of Gosport. It was constituted in 1845; and its post town is Gosport. There is a Wesleyan chapel..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288794.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:34.
- This page has been accessed 751 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki