Elsted with Treyford and Didling, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes Guide to Elsted with Treyford, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elsted with Treyford and Didling, Sussex
Elsted St Paul West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dumpford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571; Separate registers exist for Treyford beginning 1728 and also for Didling beginning 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592; Separate records exist for Treyford beginning 1573
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELSTEAD, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Dumpford, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from Midhurst.[1]


Elsted St Paul is an Ancient parish in the civil parish of Elsted with Treyford in the Chichester district of West Sussex. The parish includes  Treyford and Didling

The parish includes the church of St Andrew Didling, known as the Shepherds church whose history is described at Didling StAndrew  and Information about the church See also Didling Wikipedia

Didling St Andrew West Sussex.jpg

The Parish Church of St Paul Elsted has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The ruined church of St Mary Trelford has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Elsted Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Treyford Sussex Online Parish Clerks

Treyford St Mary Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Treyford St Peter Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) built 1849 demolished 1951

List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

See also Elsted and Treyford Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Elsted parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[7]
ELSTED PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1882-1886


BOYD
1734-1810

IGI 1571-1849, 1875-1886 1575-1697, 1709-1849, 1874-1875
PALL
1790-1810

PRTS 1572-1849, 1875-1899
1579-1901
1576-1906
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Treyford cum Didling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Treyford cum Didling Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1573-1876 1500s-1877
PRTS 1573-1615, 1622-1640, 1663-1910
1614-1901
1573-1615, 1622-1640, 1663-1910

Treyford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Treyford Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1664-1739

SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Didling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Didling Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1681-1694

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Elsted with Treyford and Didling

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.


Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 164-167. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  7. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,998 times.