Elston, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Elston, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Elston+ All+Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell PLU|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
ELSTON (All Saints),a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Newark; containing 259 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.
Elston All Saints is an Ancient Parish
The parish Church of All Saints which was restored and rebuilt in 1856 has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Elston Chapel is a redundant Anglican Ancient Parish church in the village and civil Parish of Elston in the Newark and Sherwoood district of Nottinghamshire. The Chapel is now in the chare of the Churches Conservation Trust.Elston Wikipedia The chapel was declared redundant in 1976 Elston Chapel Wikipedia
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the chapel Elston Old Chapel
Elston Old Chapel has been designated as a grade I listed Building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|ELSTON PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Elston
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.See Nottinghamshire Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Elston (Elveston) in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Elston/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2015, at 00:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,386 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More