Eltham St John the Baptist, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Eltham St John the Baptist, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eltham St John the Baptist, Kent
Eltham St John the Baptist Kent.jpg
Eltham St John the Baptist Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Lewisham PLU
Registration District Lewisham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELTHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Lewisham, hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Sutton-At-Hone, W. division of Kent, 8½ miles (S. E. by S.) from London.[1]

Eltham is a district in the London Borough of Greenwich Eltham Wikipedia

Eltham St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish and market Town which included Mottingham within the parish boundary.

Eltham was a civil parish of Kent until 1889 when it became part of the County of London and from 1900 formed part of the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich. The metropolitan borough was abolished in 1965 and Eltham then became part of the present-day London Borough of Greenwich.

There has been a succesion of churches on the site of the present church.

The church  was rebuilt in 1668 after the 1667 collapse of the nave during building work to create a vault. That church was demolished  and between 1872 and 1879 the present church was built and dedicated on the feast of St John the Baptist 24 June 1880.

The church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

See Eltham North West Kent Family History Society for other places of worship and Eltham St John the Baptist and other Anglican parishes derived from this parish which include

Eltham Holy Trinity

Mottingham St Andrew See Mottingham North West Kent Family History Society for other places of Worship in Mottingham

New Eltham All Saints

Shooters Hill Northwest Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

Mottingham is within  Bromley Registration district

See Bexley Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eltham St John the Baptist, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Eltham St John the Baptist, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1812 1812 1812 1812 1812 1812
AC 1813-1879 1813-1879
BIVRI 1718-1766 (gaps)
1719-1766 (gaps)

FS BTs 1718-1766 1718-1766 1718-1766
IGI 1798-1846, 1867-1875 1799-1837

International Genealogical Index Batch Numbers

  • Christenings 1798-1830 (72% only); 1831-1846; 1867-1875 Batch (C067821)
  • Marriages 1799-1830 (72%); 1831-1837 Batch (M067821)

Census records

Census returns for Eltham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Gotoarrow.png See Lewisham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 167-173. Date accessed: 25 2013
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St John the Baptist, Eltham in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Eltham St John the Baptist in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,201 times.