Elton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Elton, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elton, Lancashire
Elton All Saints Lancashire contributor David Dixon.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1874
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

ELTON, an ecclesiastical district and a township,in the parish, union, and parliamentary borough, of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire. The church, All Saints', was erected in 1843, on a site presented by the Earl of Derby; it is in the Norman style, with a square tower. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Elton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
ELTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1843-1914 1844-1930 1843-1940
FS 1858-1867 None 1844-1846, 1858-1867
LBMD 1837-1889 1844-1900 1837-1888
BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes (ancient parish containing ELTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Elton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306922.

Genealogy

Hopkinson, Rae Y: Hopkinson, Hutchinson, Greenhalgh of Tottington and Elton. History and family tree of Thomas Greenhalgh, Edward Hopkinson and Phebe Greenhalgh dating from 1712-1971, with the following surnames, Roninson, Hamer, Browne, Rothwell, Holland Bowken, Pilkington, Appleton, Reed, Leigh, Booth, Roscow, Rudman, Fenton, Massey, Walker, Nelson, Scholes, Hannam, Hunt, Hutchinson and Holden. Article in the Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine. Vol. 10. no. 4. pages 17-20

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53013 British History Online Elton

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 167-173. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,127 times.