Elton on the Hill, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Elton on the Hill, Nottinghamshire
Elton-on-the-Hill St Michael and All Angels Nottinghamshire.jpg
Elton-on-the-Hill St Michael and All Angels Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

ELTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 4¼ miles (E. by S.) from Bingham. [1]

Additional information:

Elton on the Hill St Michael and All Archangels is an Ancient Parish.

The church is 12th century in origin and was restored in 1855-1857 and has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of this church and parish Elton St Michael

See also Elton-on-the-Hill wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Elton on the Hill, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ELTON ON THE HILL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1593-1837

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Elton on the Hill

Elton on the Hill.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions in the churchyard, dating from 1728, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age.  The original  is held at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/8 page 6, and is also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 6, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n vol. 82 pages 12-14, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

see Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Elton in GENUKI


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 00:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,346 times.