Elworth, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Elworth, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elworth, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich; Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Elworth St Peter is an ecclesiatical parish in Cheshire from  Sandbach St Mary, Cheshire Ancient Parish and Warmingham, Cheshire Ancient Parish and includes Elton (near Sandbach), Moston (near Sandbach), Sandbach and Tetton.

ELWORTH, is a chapelry in Sandbach and Warmingham parishes, Cheshire; it is on the Northwestern railway, and on the Trent and Mersey canal, 1½ mile NW of Sandbach. It was constituted in 1847; and its post town is Sandbach.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church records

Elworth St Peter registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Elworth St Peter Parish (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1846-1909
  NONE
1847-1917
  NONE
1846-1928
Record Collection 1614792 1846-1928
  NONE
FS BT'S     NONE
  NONE
    NONE
  NONE
    NONE
  NONE
FMP (£)       KN

     KN
 
1846-1998
1846-1998
NBI



1846-1998

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers of Elworth, 1846-1924 Elworth was a chapelry in Sandbach and Warmingham parishes.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P207/1-3.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

Parish registers of Elworth, 1846-1924 FHL Film
Baptisms, 1846-1915. Marriages, 1847-1917. Burials, 1846-1883. BRITISH 2262946 Items 10 - 12
Burials, 1883-1924. BRITISH 2262947 Item 1

Cheshire Record Office Reference P 207 Elworth Parish records
Date 1846-1967 Registers: Christenings 1846-1915, Marriages 1847-1917, Burials 1846-1925. other records 1846-1967
See also Sandbach and Warmingham
URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-p207&cid=0

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Elworth (see Sandbach) on GENUKI

Elworth St Peter on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 19 February 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

Bibliography


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,339 times.